Let’s Get Ready to Rumble!

27 Mar

Foods I've never heard of but will probably end up eating...


Hey, I’m Kathryn. I’m 25, I live in Chicago, and…I don’t know how to put this…but I’m kind of a big deal.  Ok, that’s a complete lie.  I’m not at all.

I used to blog over at She Don’t Make False Claims, where I would fill people’s lives with ridiculousness and hilarity (ha, in my dreams!), but after about 6 months of pure genius, I decided to abandon the blog and take on a different project.  A challenge, if you will.  And not just any challenge.  A FOOD challenge! What does that mean?  I get to eat!  A lot!  And I definitely dig eating.

So what’s the premise of the challenge?  Well, a few years back, a list was created called The Omnivore’s 100.  It was a list of all sorts of bizarre and awesome foods you’re supposed to eat before you die.  It went pretty viral in the blog world and people posted the list on their blogs and said which foods they’d tried before.

A few years later, after all the buzz around the Omnivore’s 100 is gone, I have decided to beat a completely dead horse (‘cause I’m smart like that) and start what I’m calling the Omnivore 100 Project.  While the original list was intended to be finished over the course of a lifetime, I plan to eat each and every food on the Omnivore’s 100 list in one year.

Ok, you’re saying.  There are 100 foods on the list and 365 days in a year.  That’s two foods a week.  Simple, right?  Wrong.  Here are some examples of foods on the list:

Durian: a Southeast Asian fruit that has actually been banned from certain public areas in Singapore because it smells so horrifically bad.

Horse: I have absolutely no idea where you can buy horse meat in the United States.  Not a clue.  I don’t even know if it’s legal!

Roadkill: Yeah, for real.  I don’t know whether I’m going to have to walk down the highway peeling possums off the road or what, but I have to make this happen.

S’mores: How the hell am I supposed to- oh, s’mores.  That one’s actually pretty easy…

Check out the entire Omnivore’s 100 list here.

So that’s what’s going to happen.  From March 30th, 2011 to March 30th, 2012 (my entire 25th year of life), I will be tackling this goal and blogging about it, too!  I may stop in between bites to share some awesomeness, ‘cause twice  a week isn’t very much, now, is it?  I’d love if you could support me on my journey, leave me a comment or two, and follow along!

P.S. If you’re a vegetarian, this is probably gonna get pretty ugly.  You’d best look away.

4 Responses to “Let’s Get Ready to Rumble!”

  1. Sophia @ Raven Waves March 28, 2011 at 10:17 pm #

    Love it! Good luck!! Can’t wait to watch you eat some gross stuff 😉

  2. Cathy March 31, 2011 at 7:29 pm #

    This is awesome!! Can’t wait to read all about your adventure! Why do I have a feeling this is going to make you famous?

  3. Erin March 31, 2011 at 9:20 pm #

    1st of all, “She Don’t Make False Claims” DID indeed fill my life with hilarity!

    2nd of all, you have NO IDEA how happy I am that you have a blog again… even though I don’t. I just like creeping on you.

    3rd of all, I am a vegetarian (fun fact, right?!) but I will endure the pain of reading your blog religiously… because I know it’s gonna be epic!

    4th of all, GOOD LUCK!!!

  4. IntenseGuy April 1, 2011 at 8:30 am #

    Your old blog was filled with “ridiculousness and hilarity” and I loved every entry you made in it.

    Hmm.. horsemeat is legal – they eat here, but more odd is Horse Meat Ice Cream, for real! They make it in Japan… Basashi.

    Also “legal” in Pennsylvania is roadkill – the law says that if you hit and kill a deer with your automobile, you are free to take it home with you. I’ve never tried that – still waiting to hit one I guess…

Leave a Reply

