Number 91: Spam

30 Mar



Today is my 25th birthday and you know what that means- it’s time to begin the challenge!  I agonized for a long time over which of the Omnivore’s 100 I should start with.  I didn’t want it to be too amazing and crazy because, well, let’s face it- nobody really reads the first few blog posts you write.  But I didn’t want to wimp out and start with something lame like a PB&J.  Finally, after reading and re-reading the list about 100 times, I decided on Spam.

Spam is the perfect food for starting out this challenge because it’s a little bit ridiculous (like this challenge), it’s iconic, and everyone has an opinion on it.  You never hear someone say that Spam is just okay- you either hear violently horrible things about it or you hear how a pan-fried slab of it is the food of the gods.

I didn’t want to just eat a hunk of plain Spam, though.  Instead, I headed over to the Spam website (which crazily has hundreds of Spam recipes!) and chose one that sounded doable: Spam cornbread.  It’s basically cornbread with some chunks of Spam, bell peppers, and green onions in it.  Simple!

Opening the can was interesting.  The gelatinous blob inside had the appearance of human skin and the smell of dog food. Not a great combo, if you ask me.  I wanted to taste it straight out of the can, but I was afraid I might end up with lockjaw or some shit.  After reading the can and finding out that it was fully cooked and ready to eat (AND finding out that the 5th ingredient was sodium nitrite- dear Jesus) I sliced myself off a hunk and took a bite.

No food should look like this when it's cut...

It was salty, it was soft, it was flavorful, and it was…delicious.  Yes, I said it.  Delicious.  I will tell you, though, that as a child, I used to eat entire HANDFULS of salt, so it may have been the sodium content that was clouding my vision…er, tastebuds.  I (shamefully) ate many, many more pieces of Spam during the cooking process.

Dan (the boyfriend) tastin' some Spam

I chopped it up with the veggies, baked it into the cornbread, and the result was a moist, crumbly, and salty, but otherwise uninspiring dish.  I wanted to keep eating it, but the little voice inside my head keeps whispering “sodium nitrite, sodium nitrite…” until I threw the rest away.

Glorious, sun-kissed Spam cornbread!


THE VERDICT

Taste-wise, Spam is not as bad as it’s cracked up to be.  The texture and smell were definitely off-putting, but its sodium-filled goodness was intoxicating.  And, hey, if it can trick my brain into liking it, then I guess I like it.

9 Responses to “Number 91: Spam”

  1. Sophia @ Raven Waves March 30, 2011 at 10:12 pm #

    Spam seriously scares me! I think it was a good one to start out with though 🙂 Happy birthday!

  2. Allison @ Runs A Latte March 31, 2011 at 1:39 pm #

    I actually don’t think I’ve ever tried Spam, although I’ve definitely watched my mom gobble it up. I like that last picture! I never knew Spam could look so pretty!

  3. Bridget March 31, 2011 at 5:52 pm #

    SPAM!! I have fond memories of fryin’ up some Spam and eating it on butter drenched toast as a child. FOND memories. Spam cornbread? Hell to the YES! Nice work sis, can’t wait for more!! And your pictures–talk about profesh!! I need that camera. ;)Love this blog and so proud of you and this exciting (and kinda gross) endeavor! 🙂

  4. Cathy March 31, 2011 at 7:34 pm #

    So here’s the deal. I live near the Spam factory and have an uncle that used to work there. I used to eat Spam as a kid. Now, I won’t touch the stuff. I can’t believe you called it delicious.

  5. Erin March 31, 2011 at 9:25 pm #

    You crack me up!… When I think of Spam, for some reason, I think of Comet from Full House. Did he eat it in an episode or something?!

    1 down… 99 to go!!

    🙂

  6. shan March 31, 2011 at 10:59 pm #

    Disgusting.

  7. IntenseGuy April 1, 2011 at 8:09 am #

    Happy Birthday!! Nice to see you blogging again!

    And YUMMY!!! I LOVE spam (the sort-of-meat and not the royal family of Nigeria stuff in e-mails!)

  8. Laura in Cancun April 1, 2011 at 10:52 am #

    never had it before (crazy, right?) but now I might have to!

  9. Cynthia April 4, 2011 at 7:25 pm #

    Just came across your blog and I really like the challenge. Love the list of 100 foods to eat before you die.

    I have tried Spam before and I do enjoy it. Sodium nitrite gives me headaches so I wouldn’t be able to eat it anymore. But I wish I could sometimes! 🙂

Leave a Reply

