Number 39: Gumbo

4 Apr

Heaven in a bowl!


The other night, while I was pondering what food to conquer next, I got a text from Alyson at
Adventures of a Yankee Girl“Do you want to come over for dinner tonight?  I make a mean gumbo- you can cross it off your list!”  After leaping around in a joyful fit, I accepted and headed over to her place to help out.

I am such an awkward person in the kitchen.  I mostly walked around in circles being like, “can I do anything?”  I ended up chopping some onions, pouring glasses of wine, and mixing.  Yep, I can mix like nobody’s business.  Here’s somethin’ I mixed up all by myself.  Note the even spice distribution:

Yeah, I mixed this, beeyatch!


We roughly worked off of
Emeril’s gumbo recipe, but we threw in some shrimp and used ground sausage instead of link sausage…and we put in approximately 7 cloves of garlic.  We went pretty garlic crazy- so much so, that we each decided to eat a whole clove of garlic.  It was literally a party in my mouth.  Yes, literally.  The garlic cloves brought a keg and everything.

Cheers!


After braving Garlic Mouth Party 2011, we threw the ingredients into a pot, let them simmer for a while, and peeked in every ten minutes or so just to take a whiff of the gorgeous mixture.

I wish I could dive in...


After waiting for an agonizing hour or so (it felt like ten) it was time to eat!  We had some pull-apart bread to sop up the juices and plenty of red wine for good measure.  A fab dinner all around.

Lee, Alyson, Dan, and our delicious dinner!


THE VERDICT

Homemade gumbo is the best EVER.  The meat, veggies, and rice were tender, the gumbo itself was incredibly flavorful, and making it was a breeze!  Three thumbs up!

9 Responses to “Number 39: Gumbo”

  1. Cathy April 4, 2011 at 8:06 am #

    I agree, homemade gumbo is delish! I’m not so sure about eating a whole clove of garlic though, that sounds dangerous.

    *waves hi to Yankee Girl*

  2. IntenseGuy April 4, 2011 at 12:24 pm #

    LOL! I can’t figure out how you could actually taste it after eating that much garlic! That is as awesome a mad skillz as your mixing ones!

    One thing is for sure – Yankee Girl’s place is definitely a “vampire-free” zone!

    *Also waves to Aly, Dan, and Leland!*

  3. Dan April 4, 2011 at 9:06 pm #

    That was easily one of the tastiest dishes I’ve ever eaten 🙂 *Waves back to Intense Guy

  4. Allison @ Runs A Latte April 5, 2011 at 7:42 am #

    The gumbo actually looks really good – sausage and all! I’ve never even tasted gumbo before. Pretty sweet that all you had to do was mix to cross this one off your list!

  5. Cynthia April 5, 2011 at 8:44 am #

    That gumbo looks amazing! Now I am craving it. I don’t think I have ever had gumbo before. I definitely have never eaten an entire clove of garlic. Haha. That’s funny. Hope you brushed your teeth afterwards. 🙂

  6. Sophia @ Raven Waves April 5, 2011 at 7:10 pm #

    I like that you guys cooked it yourselves instead of getting it at a restaurant! So much more fun! 🙂

  7. Bridget April 5, 2011 at 10:20 pm #

    That looks DEELISH!!! I’m a little diappointed that this is the first time you’ve eaten a clove of garlic though. I eat nearly an en entire bulb (is that what the whole entire thing is called?) daily! I am not exaggerating! I’ve become a garlic CRAZY person!!! RJ isn’t as excited about it as I am. 🙂 I can’t wait to see what’s next!

  8. Miss Angie April 7, 2011 at 4:20 pm #

    I am so in love with your new blog. SO in love. I wish you lived closer, you could go on food quests with my roommate and me. It’d be a good time!

  9. Big Onion May 5, 2011 at 8:04 am #

    First off, awesome blog. Just added you to my Google reader so I can follow along! I really dig this concept, especially in a world of “cook the book” food blogs, it’s great to see someone blogging (and excited) about just eating!

    Second, regarding the gumbo … I’m not a native New Orleanian, but I’ve been here for over a decade. Your gumbo looks great and Emeril has a decent recipe, but next time try and find some smoked sausage to use. It’ll be a slightly different taste (a little smokier, maybe a bit different mouth feel) and is pretty much all of what they use down here. Try checking out Gumbo Pages’ recipe (http://www.gumbopages.com/food/soups/). I use that as a reference for cooking things like gumbo.

    I highly recommend looking at the recipe for barbeque shrimp — it’s totally not what you think it is and is fairly easy to pull off, especially if you don’t think you’re very good in the kitchen. http://www.gumbopages.com/food/seafood/bbq-shrimp.html

    Looking forward to reading more!

Leave a Reply

