Number 83: Pocky

11 Apr

After eating umeboshi last week, I decided I needed to eat something that would remind me what I loved about Japanese cuisine- and quick!  I needed a treat.  A chocolatey, biscuity treat.  It was POCKY TIME!  (cue MC Hammer dancing across the computer screen holding boxes of Pocky)

When I showed up at Mitsuwa, a Japanese Market in the Chicago suburbs, I was planning to buy a box of the original flavor and that was it.  But then I was faced with this and I was a bit overwhelmed:

(According to Wikipedia, Pocky comes in chocolate, strawberry, almond, honey, kiwifruit mango, Men’s Pocky, grape, yūbari melon, tangerine, powdered tea azuki bean, Kobe wine, five-fusion berry, banana, coffee, caramel, marble royal milk tea, melon, milk, honey and milk, cream cheese, berry, sweet potato, coconut, crush, pineapple, pumpkin, hazelnut, black sesame, soy bean flour, marron, Brazilian pudding, mikan, blueberry, apple yogurt, mixed berry, green tea, and more.  Holy mother!)

When I saw coconut Pocky staring me in the face, I couldn’t say no, so I bought Original and Coconut.  Then, I took it home, laid it all out, and proceeded to shovel it into my mouth.

Sometimes, I realize what a fat American I am.  This was one of those times.  I think the problem was that Pocky is so damn small!  I was expecting a substantial breadstick-like size, but they ended up being so thin and delicate that I thought I was going to break one if I breathed too hard.  I bet the Japanese eat them ever-so-daintily and nibble on a single biscuit as an after dinner treat.  I, on the other hand, had 20 within the span of a minute and a half.  Before dinner.

I wish I could describe the flavor in a new and exciting way, but it was a chocolate-covered biscuit.  It tasted like chocolate and biscuit.  Yum.

THE VERDICT
I totally dug Pocky.  I mean, it was pretty obvious that this would be a complete treat.  Seeing as I ate about a pack and a half in one sitting, I think it’s safe to say that I’d recommend it.

9 Responses to “Number 83: Pocky”

  1. Sophia @ Raven Waves April 11, 2011 at 10:18 pm #

    I love pocky!! Finally, something that I’ve tried! 🙂

  2. Cathy April 12, 2011 at 8:07 am #

    I love Pocky! Freshman year of college a cute Japanese girl lived across the hall from me and she introduced me to many delicious things, including Pocky. I had no idea there were so many different flavors!

  3. Miss Angie April 12, 2011 at 9:54 am #

    Mmmm… I heart Pocky! But I’ve never seen so many selections!

  4. IntenseGuy April 12, 2011 at 11:13 am #

    And now to go back and try all the other flavors! “Holy mother!” indeed!

  5. Allison @ Runs A Latte April 12, 2011 at 2:06 pm #

    Pocky is so good, but I had no idea there were so many flavors! Good call on the coconut – that would have been my top pick as well! I must visit this Mitsuwa.

  6. Bridget April 15, 2011 at 1:29 am #

    Good thing you took the time to lay them out before “shoveling them into your mouth”. 😉 And Men’s Pocky?? Isn’t that a little sexist? I applaud your choice though, I too would have chosen the Coconut Pocky. It looks delicious!! Okay, you’ve had your treat, now for something really disgusting! Hmmmmm…..roadkill?

  7. Monique April 16, 2011 at 1:10 pm #

    I just stumbled across your blog and what an AWESOME adventure this is going to be :)… except for the Durian haha.

    Anyways, I’m super excited to read about your eats – good luck, girl! Growing up in the San Francisco area we had LOTS of Asian goodies like Pocky readily accessible in most grocery stores. I was something I grew up on, no joke 🙂

  8. Erin April 20, 2011 at 4:53 pm #

    Yummmmmm! My students always bring Pocky to school in their lunches… I’ve always been curious. The coconut one sounds soooooooo GOOD!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Number 19: Steamed Pork Buns | OMNIVORE100PROJECT - April 29, 2011

    […] marketplace) to sample some pork buns yesterday.  Mitsuwa is the same place that I bought my Pocky.  The last time I went there, my boyfriend had some pork and ended up puking for 5 hours, so, […]

Leave a Reply

