Number 31: Wasabi Peas

18 Apr



Ok, I’m running a little behind in the challenge.  I haven’t done a new food in a full week and I’ve been freaking out!  Why, you ask?  Well, it’s probably because my kitchen looked like THIS:

No, the Tasmanian Devil didn’t rip through my apartment, nor did the Kool-Aid man bust through my wall and cause a riot.  I just moved to a new place (this is the old one) and things were a bit of a mess, to say the least.  But now I’m in a new apartment and lovin’ it!

When I was at Target yesterday buying towels, string cheese, and approximately $275 worth of other goods, I was getting a little panicky thinking about the challenge.  I didn’t know what food to do next and I had no time to plan.  Then, suddenly, I looked over and saw these babies staring me in the face:

Woot!  Target saved my life!  And I could continue the Japanese streak I’ve been on lately!  Too bad I HATE wasabi and I HATE spicy things!   Nevertheless, I dove in!

The first bite was at once repulsive and startling.  I didn’t know what to make of it, so I tried another one, just to see if I could settle on a reaction.  Twenty-five or thirty peas later, I decided that they weren’t half bad.  About fifty peas after that, I realized that I had been eating them for 20 minutes straight.  I was officially an addict.

The spice of the wasabi mixed with the crunchy sweetness of the peas was all too much and I couldn’t stop!  I closed the can and put it away before I could start crushing them up and snorting them…because that was clearly the next logical step.

THE VERDICT
I’ve never gotten a tattoo before, but I imagine that wasabi peas are similar.  Painful, addicting, and only some people can handle them.  And you very well may find me in a gutter gripping an empty can of wasabi peas in the very near future.  Just sayin’.

8 Responses to “Number 31: Wasabi Peas”

  1. Allison@Runs A Latte April 18, 2011 at 7:57 pm #

    Ha! This cracked me up! I LOVE wasabi! It’s not a good sushi night for me unless I’m bawling like baby because I’ve dumped so much into the soy sauce! Masochistic? Maybe.

    I’ll be sure to scour the alleys for you and make sure you’re not all hopped up on wasabi!

    • IntenseGuy April 18, 2011 at 8:47 pm #

      Save the cans – in case you go homeless – to recycle.

      Ummm.. hey! I’ll be your best friend and let you have mine. 🙂

      I think its time you tried that Root beer float…

  2. Sophia @ Raven Waves April 19, 2011 at 6:15 pm #

    Haha! You’re addicted!

    I gave you the Bootylicious Award on my blog! 🙂

  3. Erin April 20, 2011 at 4:57 pm #

    It’s moving day, it’s moving day…hey baby hey!!! Yay, congrats on the move.

    I hate Wasabi Peas… you know, in case you were wondering 🙂

  4. Cathy April 21, 2011 at 10:25 am #

    I think we had a can of wasabi peas in the pantry for months but I don’t think I ever tried them. I’ll have to buy some more, if you can get addicted that easily they can’t be bad!

  5. Kelly @ Dare to be Domestic April 21, 2011 at 3:15 pm #

    I just found you through Cathy’s blog [points above] and I am excited to read about your food adventures! I love, love, love wasabi peas. I had never had them until heading out on the town one night with another fellow blogger and was introduced to them. The bar kept them out like peanuts and I was so excited to try them. I love horseradish, which is what wasabi reminds me of so I was all about them from bite one! Good for you for sticking it out most people won’t give new foods a true try. I can’t wait to read more!

  6. Mandiee April 23, 2011 at 5:24 pm #

    Hahaha! I’ve never had wasabi peas either, but it definitely sounds like an interesting flavor experience based on your conclusion. Just like tattoos, I’m not sure if my tastebuds are quite ready for it yet, though. I’ll leave it to the professionals 😉

  7. Elle April 26, 2011 at 10:26 am #

    Your comparison between wasabi peas and tattoos is genius! “Painful, addicting, and only some people can handle them.” is the perfect description! I HATE wasabi, but I really seem to enjoy wasabi peas. Somehow mass quantities seem to disappear when I’m not really monitoring my intake. Of course, I could just be a masochist! 😉

    Lovin’ the new blog. Such a fun concept, and I look forward to the challenges you face in the future. You are one brave lady!

Leave a Reply

