Number 49: Krispy Kreme Original Glazed Doughnut

26 Apr

I know it seems like I’m going for the easy stuff first, but I needed to do this one before all the Krispy Kremes in the U.S. disappear!  There are only 2 left in Illinois and, thankfully, one is about 15 minutes away from my apartment (or so I thought).  When I plugged the address in to my GPS yesterday after work, I had no idea that a quick drive to Krispy Kreme would turn into a grueling hour-long trek.

It turns out that driving to Krispy Kreme from where I work is a bit of a nightmare. For about 25 minutes, I was thoroughly convinced that Kenneth (my GPS) was taking me to some bizarre, unknown location, like he enjoys doing on occasion.  Once I needed him to take me to my work Christmas party and he took me to a Denny’s 4 miles away…I guess he had a hankering for some pancakes.  Anyways, after twists, turns, frontage roads, and an eerie number of Texas license plates, I pulled up to the Krispy Kreme.


This place was super creepy.  It was the size of an airplane hangar (seriously), but there was not a single car parked outside or anyone inside.  I drove a quarter mile around the building to the drive-thru and pulled up to find that there was but one single dreadlocked man running the whole place.  I ordered 4 doughnuts and ran for my life.  P.S. I paid with a credit card and they actually made me sign for it!  If I had a stolen credit card, I’m pretty sure I’d be spending the money on something a bit more substantial than donuts…

At this point it was 7:30 and I was about to pass out.  So, naturally, I helped myself to one of the doughnuts while I was driving.  What is there to say about a sugar-laden donut when you haven’t eaten in 6 hours?  It was absolute heaven. I felt like I had eaten a rainbow.

Yeah, I'm a safe driver...

THE VERDICT
Soft, flaky, and sugary to the max, there’s nothing like an original Krispy Kreme doughnut.  I’m definitely sad to see these babies go.  Grab ’em while you can!

8 Responses to “Number 49: Krispy Kreme Original Glazed Doughnut”

  1. Miss Angie April 26, 2011 at 8:17 pm #

    We have them here! But I’m not a big fan… They’re ok, as far as Donuts go.

  2. Allison @ Runs A Latte April 27, 2011 at 7:30 am #

    Ha! I remember the work Christmas party – that Kenneth!

    Really only 2 left in IL? I had no idea. The one you went to is probably already close up shop.

    I used to enjoy KK’s in high school, but I haven’t had one in years. I doubt I’d protest too much if I were presented with one.

  3. Kelly @ Dare to be Domestic April 27, 2011 at 8:47 am #

    Is KK in danger of going out of business? You wouldn’t know it here in Alabama. I swear we have customers bring them to us at least 2 times a week some weeks! Drives me crazy [as a woman trying to eat healthy and lose weight this is a pit fall for me]. That being said Dunkin Donuts are still my favorite but… I have yet to find a Krispie I don’t like 😉

  4. Kimberley April 27, 2011 at 9:25 am #

    I have never tried Kirspy kreme before, we dont have them here!

  5. Monique April 27, 2011 at 2:09 pm #

    We just had those at work yesterday morning!! There are a billion Krispy Kremes in Arizona, but they’re disappearing in California too. When I moved, there were hardly any left!

  6. Nancy April 27, 2011 at 8:14 pm #

    Krispy Kreme Donuts. An endangered species to be certain. I wonder if this has something to do with everyone being paranoid about fat and calories. I am thinking about those raised darlings even now and must run off to eat something that won’t satisfy the craving for a Krispy Kreme.

  7. IntenseGuy April 28, 2011 at 1:30 pm #

    All I can say is in my best imitation of Homer Simpson… “Ohhmmmmm MMmmm Doooooooonuts!”

    🙂 I haven’t had a donut in years (curses being diabetic) but if I had one, a KK would be the first to get et!

  8. Bridget May 4, 2011 at 11:09 pm #

    Donuts!!!! Donuts!!……….Dooooooonuuuuuts!!!!!! I LOVE donuts. I could talk about them all day. I have to say that Dunkin Donuts are still my all-time favorite. I could easily eat 50 or more munchkins in one sitting. Remember Dunk Donuts across from Come Back Inn?? Cheeseburgers and fries followed by one dozen Dunk Donuts. Ahh….times certainly have changed.

Leave a Reply

