Number 19: Steamed Pork Buns

29 Apr

I had a semi-religious experience yesterday and I wasn’t even expecting it.   I headed back to Mitsuwa, my favorite Japanese marketplace (okay, my ONLY Japanese marketplace) to sample some pork buns yesterday.  Mitsuwa is the same place that I bought my PockyThe last time I went there, my boyfriend had some pork and ended up puking for 5 hours, so, needless to say, I was a little bit nervous about trying these out.  They arrived in a little dim sum thingy and were pretty bizarre looking.

Even though they were called “buns,” I guess it never crossed my mind that they would actually be buns. Like, made of bread.  For some bizarre reason, I envisioned them as being made of pork or something…  The Mitsuwa man’s failure to give me chopsticks indicated to me that I should probably go ahead and eat them with my hands.  So I did.  Oh, how I did.

They were absolutely incredible.  And when I say incredible, I mean INCREDIBLE.  The buns were the strangest consistency; incredibly soft, spongy, and warm, they felt almost like heated marshmallows (minus the stickiness).  On the inside, there were small chunks of flavorful barbecue pork.  Oh God, were these good.  Every time Dan reached to take a bite of one of them, I turned into a ravenous dog and practically snarled at him.  I wanted them all to myself and I was pretty successful at following through.

Each one tasted better than the next and I almost went back for helping number two.  Unfortunately, we needed to do some shopping, so we had to leave.  But literally, as we were driving later on, I kept exclaiming, “I can’t get them buns out of my mind!”  (My hunger personality is rarely grammatically correct.)  And those damn buns are still stuck in my mind a day later.

THE VERDICT
As Christopher Walken of “The Continental” SNL skit would say, “wowie wow wow wow!”  I had no idea that these babies would be so tasty!  Please tell me that I’m not alone in my new-found love of pork buns.  Maybe I’m over-reacting, but I think I might like to marry these buns of porky goodness…

7 Responses to “Number 19: Steamed Pork Buns”

  1. Vicky April 30, 2011 at 12:50 am #

    I share your love Kathryn, you are not alone!

  2. IntenseGuy April 30, 2011 at 4:45 am #

    To steal the line from Smuckers: “If Kathryn snarls over ’em, they gotta be good ….”

    🙂

    Those look yummy yummy yum!

  3. Sophia @ Raven Waves April 30, 2011 at 5:13 pm #

    They definitely sound good! I thought they were going to literally buns…like booty. So glad that’s not what it was!

  4. Monique April 30, 2011 at 6:25 pm #

    Soooo, I guess living in the SF area I just assumed everyone knew what pork buns were. I used to eat them ALLLLLL the time when I was younger. We’d get them in one of those pink doughnut boxes even. They are delish, but not so good reheated, or eaten from frozen. Otherwise the sticky center kind of melts into the bread and that part gets all wet and soggy. Not good.

    But fresh, you are so right. They are amazing 🙂 I think more people should know about them, I can’t find any in Arizona!!

  5. Allison@Runs A Latte May 1, 2011 at 8:15 am #

    Glad you recovered with something awesome after that wonderful umeboshi experiment!

    Never had pork buns, but since I plan on sticking to the whole vegetarian thing, I probably won’t get to try them. My life may never be complete!

  6. Miss Angie May 9, 2011 at 12:11 pm #

    I love these so much! So I can understand how it’s a religious experience. I was first introduced to them when I lived an hour outside of LA with my cousin and her husband who is from Hong Kong. He took us to China Town, and I was hooked! Now I have my own steamer, and I buy them to make at home sometimes!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Oh. Em. Gee. (It’s Over.) | OMNIVORE100PROJECT - April 14, 2012

    […] And while this made me move at the pace of a sloth for the rest of the day, it was well worth it. Number 19 – Steamed Pork Buns I don’t know what it was about these, but once I was finished eating them, all I could think […]

Leave a Reply

