Number 25: Head Cheese

4 May

Hey, folks!  Sorry I’ve been absent for a wee while, but I took a short trip down to New Orleans with my friend, Amy.  Why?  First of all, we were in desperate need of vacation. Second of all, Jazzfest was going on and we wanted to check that out.  Third of all (do people say that?), we wanted to see what New Orleans was like.  Last, but certainly not least, we wanted to eat.  And eat we did.  I conquered four of my foods in New Orleans and here is the first!

For those of you who don’t know exactly what head cheese is, here’s how Wikipedia describes it: “Head cheese is not a cheese but a terrine or meat jelly made with flesh from the head of a calf or pig (sometimes a sheep or cow), and often set in aspic. While the parts used can vary, the brain, eyes and ears are often removed. The tongue, and sometimes even the feet and heart may be included. Head cheese may be flavored with onion, black pepper, allspice, bay leaf, salt, and vinegar. It is usually eaten cold or at room temperature as a luncheon meat.”  Sounds pretty nasty, right?  I love stuff like this- I was pumped to try it out.

Amy and I headed to Cochon Butcher, which I can decidedly say is one of the best restaurants/butcher shops in town.  It’s a bit of a hole in the wall, attached to the much larger and fancier Cochon Restaurant.  Amazing meats, gourmet bar food, wine, and beer, all at really affordable prices.  Needless to say, it was packed (even on a Monday afternoon).

We ordered a charcuterie plate…

A cheese plate…

And an order of head cheese.  I was surprised at the texture of the head cheese.  It was incredibly soft, moist, and a bit spongy. It was so soft that it fell apart when I tried to pick it up with a fork.  It was really tasty, though.  Much tastier than I thought a chunk of head and other oddities could taste, that’s for sure.  With a bit of spicy mustard and some sweet pickles, those slices of head cheese were divine.

THE VERDICT
Sometimes pictures speak louder than words, so I’ll let this photo speak for itself.

Head cheese = gone.

 

12 Responses to “Number 25: Head Cheese”

  1. Miss Angie May 4, 2011 at 9:20 pm #

    I had a Head Cheese (cabesa) taco and it was YUM! Sometimes things that sound the grossest are the yummiest!

    • IntenseGuy May 5, 2011 at 6:42 am #

      🙂 Did you get any beads? 🙂

      Head Cheese reminds me of either belly button lint, ear wax, or when they scrape the floor at the meat packing plant to gather up enough “stuff” to make scrapple, haggis, and other delights.

      …but you make it sound so gooooooooooooood!

  2. Elle May 5, 2011 at 3:00 pm #

    You are hard core!!! I felt a little faint just reading the description of head cheese, and I’m perfectly fine dying having never ever tried it.

  3. Sophia @ Raven Waves May 5, 2011 at 7:43 pm #

    I still don’t understand why they call it cheese if it isn’t cheese! Can’t wait to see what else you tried on your trip!!

  4. Allison@Runs A Latte May 6, 2011 at 9:21 pm #

    You’re much braver with food than I ever would be! I feel kind of sick after just reading the description…of course I just stuffed my face full of food, so that could have something to do with it.

    Did your friend try the head cheese (someone needs to work on this name) too?

  5. Erin May 7, 2011 at 12:16 pm #

    That looks and sounds DISGUSTING!… you are an odd, odd woman my friend 🙂

  6. Monique May 7, 2011 at 2:32 pm #

    oh man you’re a brave, brave girl 🙂 The idea of head cheese has always frightened me, but this really just looks like pate! That’s awesome you liked it…. are you going to eat it again after this?!

  7. Eftychia May 10, 2011 at 12:56 pm #

    Mmmm… Delicious!!!

  8. c.c. May 22, 2011 at 9:26 pm #

    there is no way in hell i would eat that stuff.

    but i’m quite astounded at this project of yours, missy, and how well you are progressing. :]

    i’ve not worked on my oscars project since november. how sad.

  9. Amy June 11, 2011 at 12:55 pm #

    It wasn’t the gumbo I ate right before we ate this, it was the beignets we ate right before that that made it nearly impossible for me to eat. Sweets in the morning kills me. Save the beignets for dessert next time… Delic none-the-less!!

  10. Becki D. August 11, 2011 at 9:18 pm #

    OMW I can’t believe you ate, and LIKED that stuff! Every time I see it at the deli counter at our grocery store, I gag a little.

    Loving reading about your foodie adventures, though – what a cool “trip” you’re on!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Number 6: Black Pudding | OMNIVORE100PROJECT - September 22, 2011

    […] most of the time.  Sounds fab, no? I am a huge fan of weird concoctions like this- I mean, head cheese rocked my world when I tried it!  And I’m not going to lie and say I haven’t had it […]

Leave a Reply

