Number 67: Beignets

8 May

Number 67 on the list said “beignets, churros, elephant ears or funnel cakes.”  I decided that since I was in New Orleans, I may as well head to one of the most famous places in the world to get a beignet: Cafe du Monde.  Cafe du Monde is a New Orleans staple that’s open 24/7.  It pretty much only has two things on the menu: beignets and coffee.  Perfect.

My friend Amy and I stumbled across town in a semi-hungover state, plopped ourselves in some seats, and placed our orders.  Two beignets, a water, and a cafe au lait.  Little did I know that when you order a beignet, they give you three.  Awesome!

After dusting off my first beignet (the powdered sugar to beignet ratio was about 1:1), I took a bite.  It was kind of crispy on the outside, but soft on the inside.  It didn’t taste quite as indulgent as a regular doughnut- the inside was a bit empty and it was definitely not as cake-y as a normal doughnut.

However, these beignets certainly hit the spot.  I’m sure you all know how satisfying fried food can be when you have a hangover!  Mine were all gone in about a minute.  There was still plenty of powdered sugar left over, though.  I left that place looking like a coke addict.


THE VERDICT

I’m definitely happy that I got to taste beignets at the one place in the USA where they make them the best.  Did I prefer them to regular donuts?  I’m afraid to say that I would take a Dunkin Donut over a beignet any day.  If I’m going to stuff my face with something fried and overloaded with calories, I want it to taste like heaven.  These beignets were tasty, but not orgasmic.  Sad but true.

7 Responses to “Number 67: Beignets”

  1. Monique May 8, 2011 at 11:16 am #

    I’ve ALWAYS wanted to go to Cafe du Monde 🙂 My mom and I used to make their beignets when we were little and I dabbled a bit in college. I guess Cost Plus sells the mix, but it’s so amazing fresh from your own kitchen! You should try it 🙂 I think if maybe they were drizzled with chocolate, too, I would prefer them to doughnuts.

  2. Allison@Runs A Latte May 9, 2011 at 5:54 am #

    Cool! I’ve actually heard of that place! I always imagined beignets would taste amazing, so I’m kind of disheartened by your review.

    Note to self: Don’t travel to New Orleans just to stuff face with fried dough.

  3. Kelly @ Dare to be Domestic May 9, 2011 at 7:50 am #

    So jealous!!! 🙂 You’re in NOLA and eating these! I went to a cafe in NOLA that wasn’t Cafe du Monde and it even had this food in the TITLE of the cafe on Bourbon Street… needless to say the B’s were no where on the menu… that I saw. I ordered my breakfast and then stood to wait for my iced coffee then looked up and saw the ordering sign… WHY IS IT WHERE YOU PICK UP AND NOW WHERE YOU ORDER?!?!?! WTF?

    Needless to say I have yet to try these but they are FIRST on my list when I return to the lovely town of Nola! ox

  4. Miss Angie May 9, 2011 at 12:08 pm #

    I really really want to try and make these sometime. Or even just try and eat them. I’ve never had one, but they look so yummy!

  5. Sophia @ Raven Waves May 9, 2011 at 7:06 pm #

    They look pretty good, but I can definitely see why a normal fried doughnut would be better. I still want to try these on day though!

  6. Allison @ PickyEatingRD May 9, 2011 at 9:00 pm #

    Those look great! My sis has been to NOLA but I never have. She said the food is amazing and yours looks like it!

  7. IntenseGuy May 11, 2011 at 5:41 pm #

    Hmm… maybe you could “annotate” your list of 100 foods with a big “O” if it’s orgasmic.

    I have a hankering for Elephant Ears… hmmm… nearest supplier that I know of is 100.2 miles away… can anyone say “road trip!” (and insane waste of gas?!)

Leave a Reply

