Number 24: Rice and Beans

10 May


Is that not the most unappealing photo you’ve ever seen?  I took photo upon photo, desperately trying to make this NOT look like a puddle of mud with a severed horse penis floating in it, but it just wasn’t happening.  And yes, I just said that.  So I got some red beans and rice at Jazzfest in New Orleans.  Okay, it has some delicious spicy sausage in it.  Whatever- nobody cares.  It tasted like rice and beans and there’s nothing more I can say about it.  So…I think I’m going to spend the rest of this post talking about some other New Orleans specialties I sampled…

Let’s begin with these little critters:

Yes, you guessed it.  Crawfish!  Amy and I ordered more crawfish than we could shake a stick at, just before we realized that we had no idea how to eat them.  Rather than swallow our pride and ask someone, we basically just tore them apart and followed my vague memory of some TV host that said to pull the tails off and suck out the heads (stop thinking what you’re thinkin, perv.)   They pretty much ended up exploding all over us, but they were yummy!  Just hard work.

I kissed a crawfish and I liked it!

The end results were messy hands, messy faces, and a container full of crawfish shells and limbs.

Before and after.

I also sampled some boudin balls at Jazzfest.  Boudin is a type of sausage made with rice, and the boudin balls were basically deep-fried sausage balls.  They were super delicious (what deep-fried food isn’t?) and really filling.  I still could have eaten twenty more of them, though.   We also had one special dish that I will tell you about in my next post. Stay tuned…

Bread, beer, boudin balls, rice & beans with sausage, and crawfish!

THE VERDICT
Oh, we’re talking about rice and beans again?  I dunno, rice and beans are rice and beans.  They didn’t rock my world, but they weren’t offensive, either.  I’m sure I’ll have them again like 10,000 more times in my life.  The end.

Y'all come back now, y'hear?

8 Responses to “Number 24: Rice and Beans”

  1. Miss Angie May 10, 2011 at 10:41 pm #

    Man, It’s weird when your food stares at you…

    I had crawfish, and I concur. Yummy, but SOOOO much work.

  2. Sophia @ Raven Waves May 11, 2011 at 5:44 am #

    That crawfish is creepy!! Yeah rice and beans are definitely kind of boring, but at least they weren’t gross!

  3. Big Onion May 11, 2011 at 7:46 am #

    Good for you for attacking those crawfish like you did! Not many visitors know what to do (we saw some people once trying to fish out the meat from the tail with a fork) and tend to just avoid them out of fear.

    It’s a shame you didn’t have a better red beans experience. When I first moved here my first red beans were from the cafeteria at school, and I was like, “Really? This is it?” Since then, though, I’ve had some pretty awesome red beans and have cooked them a few times, too, but I suppose you’re right, it really is just rice and beans when it comes down to it!

  4. Allison @ Runs A Latte May 11, 2011 at 1:14 pm #

    Ha! Love your description of the spicy sausage as a severed horse penis! It was pretty disgusting looking, and it wasn’t even in focus!

    That last picture of the crawfish made me feel bad for the little guys…he’s kinda cute in his own creepy way.

  5. IntenseGuy May 11, 2011 at 5:43 pm #

    Can I re-start what I was thinking now?

    *walks over to the 100 list and adds 101) Horse Penis*

  6. Bridget May 11, 2011 at 8:46 pm #

    So those were crawfish?? I thought they were a ton of lobsters or something! 😉 That just goes to show that I’m obviously a seafood moron. They look good though! And RJ just ate rice and beans for dinner-out of a box. So I pretty much guarantee that yours were at least better than his! Need more details about N’Awleans though!!! And Mr. Mellancamp??

  7. Cathy May 25, 2011 at 8:33 am #

    Rice and beans is rice and beans…I totally agree.

    We did a crawfish boil when New Orleans was in the Superbowl. They were good, but a lot of work for a little bit of meat.

  8. Amy June 11, 2011 at 12:40 pm #

    If you’re going to eat rice and beans, you did it in the right place. I mean we did!! It was still tasty. Nice authentic cheap food to fill you up… mission accomplished

Leave a Reply

