Number 5: Crocodile (Alligator)

12 May

Ok, that up there is supposed to be my strikethrough effect.  Maybe they should re-name it “underline effect.” Anyways, I had to take some liberties with this one, as there are no crocodiles in North America and I don’t really have the time or money to go jetting off to Africa…yet… This is the final New Orleans post. I figured, where better to get some gator than new Orleans?  And I got it in pie form!

When I was walking through Jazzfest, I turned to my left and spotted this glorious sign:



Notice how nobody is lined up at either of the other stalls; they’re all congregated around the alligator pie one.  Smart people.  Amy and I immediately jumped into line and left with a gator pie for each of us.  I had initially imagined alligator pie as an actual pie- like a pot pie, almost.  It was more of an alligator-stuffed pastry similar to a British sausage roll.


Doesn’t that pie look super attractive on that filthy picnic tablecloth?  Mmm.  I attempted to eat it with a fork to begin with, but ended up giving up and using my hands (that tends to be the trend with most foods I eat).  Was it super tasty and delicious?  Absolutely.  But I’m not really speaking for the alligator here.  There were two things stopping me from tasting the gator goodness.  First, it was too hot.  Second, the flavor of the buttery pastry took over.  Because of that, I couldn’t really decipher any distinct gator taste.  It basically just tasted like any ground meat in a pastry.

THE VERDICT
I have tasted alligator before- I ordered some alligator ribs years ago at the Taste of Chicago.  I remember them tasting a bit fishy and a bit chickeny at the same time, but they were also slathered with BBQ sauce, so I couldn’t get a complete feel for them.  Note to self: next time I eat gator (when the hell is that going to be?) just eat it.  No sauce, no pastry, no sides.  THEN see what I think about it.

8 Responses to “Number 5: Crocodile (Alligator)”

  1. Allison@Runs A Latte May 12, 2011 at 8:09 pm #

    Who the hell wouldn’t want pecan catfish? What a bunch of crazies!

    That pastry does look super tasty. It makes me think of chocolate croissants! And I’m talking about that last picture, not the meaty one.

  2. IntenseGuy May 13, 2011 at 11:05 am #

    I bet the crabmeat stuffed shrimp were the best tasting.

    🙂

    You might find this website of some help:

    http://www.exoticmeatsandmore.com/

    Unfortunately, the croc is out of stock.

    http://www.exoticmeatsandmore.com/caimancrocodiletailfillet.aspx

  3. IntenseGuy May 13, 2011 at 11:06 am #

    🙂

    http://brentwoodtradinggroup.com/crocodilemeat.html

    Good gosh… on sale, it’s “only” $50 a pound…

  4. Laura in Cancun May 14, 2011 at 9:24 am #

    Oh my gosh… that actually looks really good!

  5. Monique May 14, 2011 at 12:12 pm #

    I’ve definitely heard it tastes just like chicken. What’s not to love about anything in a pastry?! 🙂

  6. Sophia @ Raven Waves May 15, 2011 at 1:29 pm #

    That actually looks really good. If I just saw it, I’d probably think it was a dessert…at least until I took that first gator bite. Then I’d probably freak out. Can’t wait to see what’s next on the list!

  7. courtney (pancakes and postcards) May 17, 2011 at 12:16 am #

    I’m pretty sure this is the coolest project ever.

  8. Cathy May 25, 2011 at 8:30 am #

    I’m impressed you ate alligator, twice! Even though the flavor was overpowered by other things, that’s still something most people would never eat.

Leave a Reply

