Number 38: Vodka Jell-O AKA Jell-O Shots

18 May

This past weekend was the perfect time to do number 38 on the list.  Dan just became elderly (he turned 30), so we threw a birthday/housewarming bash on Saturday.  After taco dip, chicken wings, meatballs, veggie platters, and chocolate chip cookie bars, Jell-O shots were first on the list of things to make!

The first batch- the big one- was raspberry Jell-O with Six Raspberry Vodka.  I’m not gonna lie, people.  Six Raspberry Vodka tastes like vomit.  But I was not about to put some premium booze in that Jell-O!  On the first batch, I was an idiot and instead of substituting some vodka for water, I just put the normal amount of water and then some vodka at the end.  I was terrified that they would never solidify, but they ended up being just fine.

The second, smaller batch was made of black cherry sugar-free Jell-O and regular Smirnoff vodka.  I substituted half the water for vodka in this one, and they actually solidified even less than the first batch (probably because the freezing point of alcohol is higher than that of water).  They were slightly mushy and jelly-like, but infinitely better tasting than the first batch.  Plus, because they were so soft, they were easier to shoot.  Double whammy!

 

I have no pictures of the actual finished results…I didn’t really take many pictures at all…you forget these things after 10 shots and a few beer bongs.  We had fun, though, and the Jell-O shots were a major hit.



THE VERDICT

If I were a political candidate, instead of handing out buttons and flyers, I would hand out Jell-O shots.  With a little gummy face inside that looked like me.  Ok, no, that’s creepy.  Gross.  What I’m trying to say is that Jell-O shots pretty much rock.  Well, maybe not the next day, when all I could bear to swallow was this…

Yes, I have 500 Sam’s Club ibuprofen.  Don’t judge.

8 Responses to “Number 38: Vodka Jell-O AKA Jell-O Shots”

  1. Erin May 19, 2011 at 12:44 am #

    Jell-O Shots are a sneaky, deadly way to become highly intoxicated 🙂 I like the way you think my friend… If I had a nickel for everytime I blacked out from Jell-O shots… I’d be one wealthy lady!

    Happy Birthday to Dan!! (He’s making me feel young… I always knew I liked him!)

  2. Allison @ Runs A Latte May 19, 2011 at 7:08 am #

    They did looks awesome, and it was an incredible test of my willpower not to partake! When’s the next party? 😀

  3. Laura in Cancun May 19, 2011 at 9:09 am #

    I think the mushiness is a plus. The one time I had jello shots, they were too solid to slurp out of the little plastic cup. Not cool.

  4. IntenseGuy May 20, 2011 at 6:00 am #

    First of all – Happy Birthday Dan!!

    Second of all – these look so yummy they have to be bad for you.

    I hope you enjoyed your celebration(s) and feel good today!

  5. Monique May 20, 2011 at 4:04 pm #

    You’ve got my vote 🙂 Hahaha I LOVE Jell-o shots. When I saw your list of the Omnivore’s 100, I was excited about these the most!

  6. Sophia @ Raven Waves May 24, 2011 at 5:54 am #

    Hahah!! I’d vote for you! Haven’t had jello shots in way too long…I think I may need to change that!

  7. Cathy May 25, 2011 at 8:27 am #

    Every time I have jello shots it’s so hard to eat/slurp them. I can never get them out of the little cup. So I think mushy is ok.

  8. Allison @ PickyEatingRD May 31, 2011 at 2:36 pm #

    Ohhhhh Happy Birthday to Dan! I haven’t had a jello shot in soooo long… prob since college wow!

Leave a Reply

