Number 60: Carob Chips

31 May

It’s been 2 weeks since I last blogged and I haven’t really been in the blogging mood lately.  That is, until I saw an item on the list that intrigued me: carob chips.  Easy to find (yay, Whole Foods!), easy to eat, and I could actually use them in a recipe instead of just munching on them.  Amidst the brats, beer, coleslaw, beans, awkward conversation, and more beer of the holiday weekend, I managed to do some recipe searching.  I finally decided on pumpkin carob chip muffins.

And here’s how I made it!  This recipe is adapted from the Food.com recipe
here.

INGREDIENTS:
-1 cup canned pumpkin
-1/2 cup water
-1/4 cup canola oil
-1 heaping tablespoon cacao powder
-1 teaspoon vanilla
-1 cup whole wheat flour
-2/3 cup all-purpose flour
-1 cup sugar
-1 teaspoon baking powder
-1/2 teaspoon baking soda
-1/2 teaspoon salt
-1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
-1/4 teaspoon nutmeg
-1/2 cup carob chips

INSTRUCTIONS:
1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Spray 12 muffin cups with a non-stick baking spray and line your muffin tin.
2.Mix wet ingredients in a mixer on high for about a minute.
3. In a separate bowl, combine dry ingredients together.
4. Combine dry and wet ingredients, then fold in carob chips.
5. Distribute batter evenly into muffin cups, then bake for 30 minutes.

The result is a super moist and tasty muffin, although it could do with a bit more pumpkin and spices.  My neighbor’s evaluation of the muffins was “They don’t have any one overpowering flavor.  They don’t taste too much like anything; they just taste good.”  I can deal with that.  Between Dan and myself, we ate 6 in a day, so it’s safe to say that we dug ’em. We are also ravenous beasts at all times.

The carob chips offered a sweet (but not too sweet) and somewhat chocolatey alternative to chocolate chips.  In addition to being vegan-friendly, carob chips are also dog-friendly!  I discovered this after finding tons of recipes I wanted to try, only to read that they served “8-10 dogs.”  Crap.  I guess I’ll have to pass on the Carob Chip Bundt Cake 😦

THE VERDICT
A great vegan alternative to chocolate chips, these were super yummy and very melty (read: messy).  When eaten in a muffin, they could barely be distinguished from chocolate chips.  When I had some of them on their own, I could definitely taste the difference.  The consistency is a bit gritty and the chips leave a kind of thick film in your mouth for a few seconds.  They also have a slightly different flavor, but for the life of me, I can’t describe it.  I would like to bake with these again, but after seeing the saturated fat content (almost 90% of their fat is saturated), I think I’ll have to pass.

12 Responses to “Number 60: Carob Chips”

  1. Miss Angie May 31, 2011 at 10:56 pm #

    Fascinating! I’ll have to try those!

  2. Bridget May 31, 2011 at 11:39 pm #

    Yum!!! I just discovered ‘Carob spirulina energy chunks’ at Vitamin Cottage and literally felt like I had died and gone to carob heaven!! Tastes like fudge!!

  3. IntenseGuy June 1, 2011 at 6:48 am #

    If I’m gonna have a chocolate chip – I’m gonna have a real one!!

    So, tell us about this awkward conversation? 🙂

    • Kathryn June 2, 2011 at 6:36 pm #

      Ha, since I’m the youngest in the family, I’m stuck doing the whole “old people chat” thing. That generally (ok, ALWAYS) leads to awkward conversations.

  4. Laura in Cancun June 1, 2011 at 8:42 am #

    I haven’t been in much of a blogging mood, either. Can’t explain it, really!

    I love anything pumpkin flavored, so these photos bring on some strong temptations haha

  5. Sophia @ Raven Waves June 1, 2011 at 9:18 pm #

    I’ve actually tried these! The muffins look delicious, and I love that last picture with the half eaten muffin and chips lying next to it. Fit for a king! 😉 Now that you’ve done two delicious things in a row, is it back to really weird items?

    • Kathryn June 2, 2011 at 6:36 pm #

      Depends on how easy it is to find weird things to eat! I’m planning a bug feast soon with the scorpion lollipop as dessert!

  6. courtney (pancakes and postcards) June 1, 2011 at 11:47 pm #

    for some reason carob weirds me out. i dont know why. it’s good! and great for baking. but i think my mind just has this blinking red light screaming at me NOTCHOCOLATE NOTCHOCOLATE NOTCHOCOLATE… 🙂

  7. c.c. June 2, 2011 at 10:34 am #

    hey. those look good!

    but i’m gonna go with what courtney said … NOTCHOCOLATE. :]

    i’ve got a giveaway going on this week that you might like: http://bit.ly/mKbzaA.

  8. Monique June 4, 2011 at 1:00 pm #

    So I haven’t ever had these in muffins, cookies, etc. before, but I have had them plain on frozen yogurt. I was not a fan, they look like chocolate but in my mind don’t even remotely taste like it! What the heck?! 🙂 Maybe I’d be singing a different tune if I tried them baked inside goodies.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Sweet Potato & Dark Chocolate Muffins | Wise & Wonderful Cookery - September 17, 2012

    […] Directions: Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Wipe the insides of your muffin pan well with coconut oil. Mix wet ingredients in a mixer on high for about a minute. In a separate bowl, combine dry ingredients together. Combine dry and wet ingredients, then fold in chocolate. Distribute batter evenly into muffin cups, then bake for 30 minutes. […]

  2. Vegan Pumpkin Muffins | Wise & Wonderful Cookery - October 8, 2012

    […] Directions: Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Wipe the insides of your muffin pan well with coconut oil. Mix wet ingredients in a mixer on high for about a minute. In a separate bowl, combine dry ingredients together. Combine dry and wet ingredients, then fold in chocolate. Distribute batter evenly into muffin cups, then bake for 30 minutes. […]

Leave a Reply

