Number 85: Kobe Beef

5 Jun


Today, I was a man.  I started my day by rolling out of bed at 10:30am, throwing on some sweats, and stumbling my way into the kitchen to fix some breakfast.  What was on the breakfast menu this morning?  A half pound of seared Kobe beef.

Yes, I made another trip to Mitsuwa lately (a crazy awesome Japanese market near my house).  I started my trip by standing in the candy aisle and ogling the strangely named sweets, the most notable being Look a la Mode (which I can only imagine is eyeballs with ice cream on top), Chelsea Butterscotch (which will be my future stripper name if I ever have to go down that route), Black Black gum (what flavor is “black?”), and Crunky (no explanation needed).

After checking out the tasty treat section, I took a gander at some 3-pound bags of MSG, then headed over to the meat section.  And that’s where I found what I was looking for: pounds and pounds of Kobe beef.  Like a true man, I started drooling immediately and picked up a pack of thinly sliced tri-tips.


Anyways, back to this morning.  I had read on eHow that to cook Kobe beef, you need to heat up your pan/grill to a super high heat and then quickly sear the meat for about a minute.  Easy, right?  Well, I heated up my pan to a temperature that can only be referred to as “really effing hot” and started searing the meat.  It was all good to start with until it started to get smoky.  Then it got really smoky.  Then it got really, REALLY smoky.  Next thing I knew, the fire alarm was going off and Dan had to angrily get out of bed and pull the alarm off the wall.  Oops.  I also heard more fire alarms going off in our condo complex, so I have a feeling they’re connected…oops again.

The meat turned out pretty good, though.  I whipped up a dipping sauce out of soy sauce, wine vinegar, and lime juice, then I made a little bowl of brown rice, too.  After snapping a few pics, I began to daintily eat the beef with chopsticks.  Two minutes in, I threw the chopsticks to the side and just started eating the beef with my hands, tearing the beef apart like a wild animal.  Told you- I’m a man.


To continue with my manly activities, I spent the rest of the day burping and playing Lego Indiana Jones on the Xbox.  For dinner, I feasted on brats and beer.  It was a pretty awesome day.  I even went to Target and bought some balls- tennis balls, that is.


THE VERDICT
There’s nothing more manly than high-quality beef and this stuff was just that.  Tender and full of flavor, I found myself passing up the dipping sauce in most cases, preferring to taste the beef on its own.  I actually had considered marinating the beef the prior evening, but I thought it would be a sin to mask the flavor of this incredible meat.  Next time, I’m going to try Kobe beef burger-style.  Mmm…

9 Responses to “Number 85: Kobe Beef”

  1. Sophia @ Raven Waves June 5, 2011 at 10:31 pm #

    Hahaha!!! Sounds like a fun-filled manly day! I hope your spit-loving neighbor was home for all the fire alarms going off. And Chelsea Butterscotch is an amazing stripper name. Mine will definitely be Cinderella Tower 🙂

  2. Laura in Cancun June 6, 2011 at 9:00 am #

    Ok, that looks really good and it’s only 10 am. My “inner dude” is calling out haha

  3. IntenseGuy June 7, 2011 at 7:41 am #

    Dear Chelsea Butterscotch,

    What happened when you set off the fire alarm? Did the neighbors simply ignore it? Did you “buy off their silence” with small bags of MSG?

    That beef looks drool-worthy to me (a guy). *beats chest and looks for club to go out hunting for some*

    Umm.. did you scratch your balls this morning? Tennis balls that is…

    • Kathryn June 7, 2011 at 8:06 pm #

      As far as I know, nobody was too angry about the fire alarm- I don’t think anybody knew it was our condo.

      And yes, there was also MSG bribery involved…

  4. Allison @ PickyEatingRD June 7, 2011 at 11:29 am #

    I have random “man” days as well. Sometimes it is just easier that way!

  5. Miss Angie June 7, 2011 at 12:17 pm #

    I LOVE Kobe beef. I had a Kobe Beef Burger with Wasabi Mayo in San Fran and it was amazing! I need to try it like this though! YUM!

  6. c.c. June 7, 2011 at 1:14 pm #

    don’tcha wanna know how ya did?

  7. Monique June 7, 2011 at 3:06 pm #

    hahahahahaha I didn’t stop laughing one second during this entire post. Chelsea Butterscotch is a good stripper name… but have you heard that game where you take your first pet’s name and the name of the street on which you lived growing up?

    Mine would be Fluffy Champagne. Or if I want to go with pet/street as an adult, it’d be Woody Frances. I like them both.

    • Kathryn June 7, 2011 at 8:00 pm #

      Mine is Lacey Gale, which is think is pretty awesome. Like a Southern belle stripper!

Leave a Reply

