Number 21: Heirloom Tomatoes

20 Jun

This weekend, Dan and I were invited to a little kid birthday party.  The couple who lived beneath me at my old apartment have three little kids, one boy (5 yrs old) and two twin girls (3 yrs old), and they were all having a birthday party together.  When we showed up to the party, we found ourselves face-to-face with a bouncy house, a cotton candy machine, a clown, face painting, and herds- yes, herds- of children.  I immediately thought, “dear God, what have we gotten ourselves into?”

I was under the impression that all the adults would have the same mindset as us- let’s get tipsy and let the kids do their thing.  There were a couple people like that, but mostly everyone was talking about how “their Tina” is at the top of her gymnastics class and her coach says that with a little practice, she could go to the Olympics!  Congrats, lady.  Your kid can somersault.  Woo.

So what was at this party besides obnoxious women and screaming kids?  Junk food.  Lots and lots and lots and lots of junk food.  Within 2 hours, I managed to consume cupcakes, hot dogs, cotton candy, circus peanuts, pretzels, animal crackers, popcorn, and lots of beer.  Yes, by the end of the party, I felt like a pinata ready to burst.

When I got home, I was craving real food.  Seriously, anything that grew out of the ground or wasn’t made with pure sugar would do.  So I decided to make bruschetta.


I chopped up some parsley, garlic, and heirloom tomatoes, then mixed them up with olive oil, salt and pepper.  It smelled incredible already!


Then, I chopped up some black olives and artichoke hearts and threw them in.  Finally, I mixed in a hearty helping of feta cheese.  The end result was just what I needed, and as I bit into the crispy bread and the olive oil-drenched topping, I was in heaven.  Later that night, we had friends over, sipped red wine, snacked on lobster-stuffed mushrooms, and I felt like an adult again.

THE VERDICT
From what I understand, all heirloom tomatoes are different.  Some have stripes, some are yellow, and some are weird-looking (there’s an actual kind of heirloom tomato called an Ugly tomato).  I foolishly have no idea what kind I got.  While I couldn’t identify any noticeable difference in taste between my heirlooms and regular tomatoes, I’m glad I got to try them.  They seriously hit the spot when I needed them most- I mean, after a mouthful of circus peanuts, what wouldn’t taste amazing?

6 Responses to “Number 21: Heirloom Tomatoes”

  1. IntenseGuy June 21, 2011 at 7:39 am #

    Goodness… you are on a tear – three foods down and dusted in next to no time.

    Does Gordon Ramsey approve of your knife work? It looks really good to me.

  2. Laura in Cancun June 21, 2011 at 10:14 am #

    That looks delicious! and lobster-stuffed mushrooms? Yum!

    In all fairness to little Tina, I can’t even do a cartwheel haha

  3. Sophia @ Raven Waves June 21, 2011 at 6:37 pm #

    I would have had the exact same mindset with you! Bruschetta is pretty much the best appetizer ever, and I love that you added black olives and feta…two of my faves right there! 🙂

  4. Sophia @ Raven Waves June 21, 2011 at 6:37 pm #

    Whoops, I meant same mindset as you haha!

  5. Bridget June 22, 2011 at 12:50 pm #

    How dare you diss circus peanuts…..how DARE YOU!!??? (Dad talking)

  6. Monique June 22, 2011 at 5:54 pm #

    haha you are a great storyteller…. and that bruschetta is beautiful!

    I love heirloom tomatoes, I generally will buy them over regular tomatoes (if they’re not too expensive). My favorite are the tye-dye looking ones. Try those next time!

Leave a Reply

