Number 35: Root Beer Float

14 Jul

For dinner tonight, I made myself a Greek salad.  I picked some plump ripe tomatoes and tossed them with crisp sliced cucumber, crunchy Romaine lettuce, beautiful black olives, and feta cheese.  I then drizzled it with a reduced-fat Greek dressing.  After I ate this delicious and nutritious meal, I took three oversized scoops of vanilla ice cream, plopped them into a Coke glass, and poured some high fructose corn syrup-laden root beer over the top.  I’ve never felt happier.

Now, I’m not one to eat sweets on a regular basis.  I’m the kind of gal who will choose the cheese plate over a chocolate lava cake any day.  I also don’t drink pop.  Ever.  Needless to say, having a gigantic root beer float did a few things to me:

1. Filled me with the most intense feeling of bliss I’ve felt in a long time.

2. Made me feel immensely ill afterward.

3. Helped me produce burps that I can only refer to as “epic.”



This was the first time I’ve had a root beer float in probably around 18 years, so it was definitely a flashback to my childhood.  My dad was a huge root beer float guy, and he would make them all the time.  We’d also make homemade chocolate malts on a daily basis.  Ah, the good ol’ days when heart disease and high cholesterol weren’t a concern…

I had forgotten how yummy root beer floats are; I love how they’re fizzy, syrupy, creamy, and refreshing all at the same time.  Heaven.

On another (completely random) note, this past weekend I found myself at a 6-hour long dinner with a neurologist, a wealthy Russian woman who lives in the Trump Tower, her semi-famous architect husband, two former Olympic champion figure skaters (from Lithuania and Russia), and a Haitian family.  It involved rich Italian food, lots of champagne, multiple toasts, discussions about Prince William, and searing 91-degree heat.  That is all you need to know about it, really.  I was as confused about it at the time as you probably are now…I think I’m still confused, actually.  Here’s a quick photo from the event:

THE VERDICT
Besides feeling ill for an hour afterward and and the non-stop burping accompanied with it, I think root beer floats are probably one of the best inventions out there.  The combination of textures and flavors are just divine.  I think I might actually prefer the sharper taste of Coke floats- I wonder how a float would be with Coke Vanilla- but root beer floats are definitely uh-mazing.  Bravo,
Robert M. Green!

7 Responses to “Number 35: Root Beer Float”

  1. Laura in Cancun July 15, 2011 at 8:34 am #

    I am obsessed with root beer (hard to find here in Cancun), and you’re killing me with those photos!

    Also… best dinner ever??

  2. IntenseGuy July 15, 2011 at 11:12 am #

    Buuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuurp!!!!

    🙂

    Ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh…

  3. Miss Angie July 15, 2011 at 11:25 am #

    I used to LOVE Rootbeer floats as a kid. I was a rootbeer fanatic. Somewhere along the way I lost my taste for it, now I can’t stand more than a sip or rootbeer… Weird.

  4. c.c. July 15, 2011 at 5:36 pm #

    you call my eating habits odd? you would pass on the divineness of chocolate molten lava cake? that’s just crazy talk, pure and simple.

  5. Monique July 16, 2011 at 1:36 pm #

    YES! I can’t believe you’ve waited that long to have a root beer float 🙂 My mom used to make them all the time when I was younger, and now I’ll probably have one every few months.

    Have you ever had an orange raft? Orange sherbet and Sprite… it’s freaking amazing!

  6. Bridget July 19, 2011 at 2:00 am #

    I must admit I’ve always despised root beer but find root beer floats to be divine. I haven’t had one in probably 25 years (beat you!) 😉 but do have fond memories. And I love that you brought up our homemade malts! HOW did I not drop dead as a child? Me and Dad ate homemade malts EVERY NIGHT. This is not an exaggeration. A malt a night?? And this was after eating either Giordanos pizza or KFC for dinner. How times have changed! (tear)

  7. Jahn Ghalt May 3, 2013 at 2:57 pm #

    My all time favorite float is 7-Up and vanilla ice cream.

    (root beer is good, too)

    I discovered an improvement, but first the method.

    Ice cream and soda should be very cold. Pour only a little soda to start – under the foam, this produces soda-pop-ice-crystals.

    The improvement? Add fresh lemon and or lime first to the ice cream. Now you get tart frozen juice – yum.

Leave a Reply

