Number 44: Goat’s Milk

25 Jul

After making a 10pm run to Whole Food’s for goat’s milk and polenta last Tuesday, I started to realize how odd my life has become.  My life currently revolves around calling butcher shops and inquiring about their quantity of haggis, followed by hours of planning on how to obtain roadkill, ending with me attempting to cook something that, if done incorrectly, could kill me.  Yes, I have certainly been doing a lot of things lately that I’ve never done before.  So, I decided to do one more thing I haven’t done before; instead of just tasting goat’s milk for my blog post this week, I decided to actually make homemade goat’s cheese out of it!

When I found out how easy it is to make goat cheese (thanks to Serious Eats’ tutorial), I knew I had to give it a shot.  You start by heating the milk to 180 degrees.

Is this not the most thrilling photo ever?

Once it has reached 180 degrees, you pour in 1/4 cup of freshly squeezed lemon juice and let the milk curdle a bit.

Yes, I cheated and used the lime squeezer.

After it has curdled for a little bit, set a colander in a pot, line it with lots and lots of cheesecloth, and spoon in the milk.


Then, tie up the ends of the cheesecloth and use something long and skinny to hang it over a deep bowl or pot.  I used a metal skewer, but you can use a wooden spoon, a chopstick, a carrot, a broom, or a small child’s arm.


After about 90 minutes, remove the cheese, add some garlic and herbs of your choice, and you’re done!


An entire liter of goat’s milk only made a small bowl of goat cheese, which was a little disappointing.  It also wasn’t the creamy consistency that I’ve always adored in goat cheese.  Instead, it was more crumbly.  The flavor?  It certainly didn’t have the salty goodness of store-bought cheese, even when I added salt.  It tasted more like stale milk than anything else.   I decided to make some goat cheese and spinach burgers with my freshly-made cheese, and I could handle the flavor in that situation, but I didn’t really enjoy it.


THE VERDICT
When I drank the goat’s milk on its own, it pretty much just tasted like whole cow’s milk to me.  Thick, a bit stronger than normal milk, but nothing crazy.  The goat cheese was a big disappointment and I’m sad that you only get about 2 burgers’ worth from a liter of milk, but it was worth a shot!  I’m happy to say that I am now a proud cheesemonger!  (Minus the monging part because I never sold it.)

5 Responses to “Number 44: Goat’s Milk”

  1. c.c. July 25, 2011 at 8:00 pm #

    i’m pretty impressed that you made that stuff. i certainly wouldn’t have gone so far.

  2. IntenseGuy July 26, 2011 at 5:42 am #

    I’m glad you didn’t use a small child’s arm… imagine trying to get it to stay in place for 90 minutes?

    🙂

    I’m impressed… you made cheese! (I only cut it…)

    I like your lemon squeezer! It looks like it works well too.

  3. IntenseGuy July 26, 2011 at 7:18 am #

    Your picture shows “low fat” goats milk… wouldn’t “high fat” milk make more cheese? Just curious…. 🙂

  4. Big Onion July 26, 2011 at 7:27 am #

    Impressive!

    But I think your disappointment may be caused by using that lowfat milk. Try something with a higher fat content and you’d probably be a little surprised.

    Whenever we’ve made cheese it’s been with whole, non-homogenized milk. (Non-homogenized only means the milk hasn’t been mixed to incorporate all the fat.) It’s better to get unpasteurized milk, but there’s a lot of restrictions on selling that.

    The higher the fat content, the creamier the cheese. Give it another shot if you have a chance, and if you can get some higher fat milk. 🙂

    Still, very awesome!

  5. Laura in Cancun July 26, 2011 at 10:18 am #

    Well it LOOKS delicious…

Leave a Reply

