Number 80: Bellini

26 Jul

When Dan and I had our housewarming party in April, one of our lovely guests brought us a bottle of champagne.  We were saving it for some noteworthy occasion, but as nothing noteworthy has happened of late, we decided that a sunny Sunday afternoon would have to be occasion enough to pop that bottle.  The difficult lives we live…

I just happened to have some samples of The Perfect Puree white peach puree laying around (no, seriously- total coincidence!), so I was ready to go!

All you have to do to make a bellini is fill your champagne flutes about 1/3 of the way full of with peach puree…

And fill the rest up with champagne!  Then you gently stir with a spoon and, voila!  Bellinis!  I know some recipes call for peach schnapps, as well, but I’m a cheapo and didn’t feel like buying any.

Anyways, once I started sipping…well…let’s just say that Dan and I finished that bottle in record time.  I also tried making a papaya bellini with some more puree I had in the fridge.  Both of these concoctions were super yummy and definitely WAY too easy to drink.

Here are some things I may or may not have done while under the influence of 3 bellinis:

1. Insisted that Dan and I go for a walk in the 90-degree weather.
2. Started running around the track at a local high school in my flip flops until I got tired 10 seconds later.
3. Tried to force Dan to lay on the grass with me and look at the clouds.
4. Stomped around in anger when he refused.
5. Laid down on the kitchen counter when we got home.  I was resting!
6. Ate a huge bowl of vanilla ice cream, chocolate syrup, chocolate chips, and honey.
7. Played Quiet Riot, Twisted Sister, and Autograph on my laptop way too loudly.  And sang along.  Way too loudly.
8. Developed a killer headache.


THE VERDICT

Based on that series of events, I have decided that I thoroughly endorse bellinis.  They are fruity, fun, refreshing, and make for particularly lighthearted Sunday afternoons…until they start to wear off.  I did enjoyed my papaya-champagne creation more than the peach bellini, but any combo of fruit + champagne = okay by me!  P.S. I take donations if, y’know, you want me to do this post again… 🙂

5 Responses to “Number 80: Bellini”

  1. Laura in Cancun July 26, 2011 at 3:58 pm #

    I reeeeally want one now! I’m a huge fan of mimosas… and this is the same, but with peach!!!

  2. Miss Angie July 27, 2011 at 10:20 am #

    I must try that! YUM! Seriously!

    I love me a Mimosa, so Bellini sounds even better!

  3. Erin July 27, 2011 at 1:00 pm #

    Ohhhhhh how I love a good bellini!!…. I recently had one (ok, 6) in Palm Springs and they had just about the same effect on me as they did on you!!!

    xoxo

  4. Monique July 27, 2011 at 2:46 pm #

    YES! I love anything with champagne in it…. and Bellinis are one of my favs. I once made a Bellinitini… you should try that next 🙂

  5. IntenseGuy July 28, 2011 at 9:09 am #

    So what gave you the headache? Listening to someone howling along to “Twisted Sister”?

    J/k.

    Its a good looking drink… I might try one (and only one)!

Leave a Reply

