Number 79: Lapsang Souchong

3 Aug


Another goal of my recent trip to Chinatown was to find some lapsang souchong. I have been to many, many Asian markets looking for this stuff, but have had no luck at all.  The only place I could find it was Amazon.com, and I wasn’t about to give in that easily.  When I stepped into Ten Ren Tea, I knew I was in the right place.  There were gigantic metal canisters of tea everywhere, and one of them was filled with lapsang souchong!  Amazing.

The first thing the woman in the store had me do was take a whiff of the tea.  It had an incredibly smoky smell, unlike any tea I’ve smelled before.  The women explained that the tea is actually smoked over pine, giving it the distinct scent.  For any Disney World freaks out there (anybody?) it smells like the scene in Spaceship Earth where Rome is burning.  Or, for the normal people, it smells like a campfire (or how your clothes smell after a weekend of camping).  The tea leaves even looked like tiny charred chunks.  I was definitely intrigued.


I bought an infuser, headed home, and brewed it up.  The smoky aroma filled the room and I LOVED it.  It ended up tasting pretty much exactly how it smelled- rich, smoky, and very flavorful.  When I was done, the taste in my mouth made me feel almost like I had smoked a cigarette or something…minus the disgustingness.

Yeah, I drink tea on the floor. What, you don't?

THE VERDICT
This tea is definitely unlike any I’ve had before.  It’s so flavorful that it’s not really something you’d sip with a meal.  I can imagine sitting back with a mug of lapsang souchong on a cool fall day.  The smell of burning leaves would pair perfectly with the taste the tea.  Ahh…

**I’m off on a camping trip now, so I’m going to be MIA for a little bit.  Soon I’ll be smelling just like this tea.  See you all soon!**

4 Responses to “Number 79: Lapsang Souchong”

  1. IntenseGuy August 4, 2011 at 10:59 am #

    I hope you are enjoying your camping trip!!!

    You are making great progess on your list of 100 things. I look forward to your write up on #75.

    🙂

  2. Cinderella August 4, 2011 at 7:11 pm #

    Hot tea freshly brewed is wonderful – enjoy:)

  3. Miss Angie August 11, 2011 at 1:39 pm #

    That is really interesting! I’ll have to try that!

  4. Bridget August 23, 2011 at 8:46 pm #

    The scene in Spaceship Earth where Rome is burning you say? Hmm……..I’m vaguely familiar with that scent.

Leave a Reply

