Number 61: S’mores

10 Aug

Y’know what today is?  National S’more Day!  Y’know what I did last weekend?  Went camping!  Y’know what I ate?  A shit ton of s’mores!  How wonderfully perfect.  The s’more is one of the best American creations of all time. I remember the first time I introduced s’mores to my British friends; their eyes lit up like it was Christmas morning and they started drooling like no tomorrow.  With the exception of one “it’s too sweet” comment, they all fell in love.

Ok, back to camping.  My camping trip in Wisconsin was pretty much made up of a whole lot of nothing.  It was glorious.  There was swimming, there were beer bongs, and there were copious amounts of food.  And I managed to cross something off bucket list, too.  (Hint: it starts with “skinny” and ends with “dipping.”)  Anyways, fun times were had by all and we indulged in s’mores on a nightly basis.

Here are some photos of the s’more making process.  Step 1: Gather your friends.  (Shout out to Yankee Girl on the right!)


Step Two: Gather your marshmallow(s).


Step Three: Roast to a perfect golden brown.


Steps Four and Five: Smush together ingredients and eat.


As if normal s’mores weren’t enough, when I came home, I decided to make frozen s’mores pops (my own invention).  I layered Marshmallow Fluff, chocolate pudding, and graham cracker crumbs, stuck them in pudding cups, froze them, and voila!  Instant s’mores pops.  I had an inkling from the start that these would turn out to be a total disaster, and, for the first time ever, I was wrong.   They turned out super awesome and, with the exception of the fluff melting a little too quickly, these were an awesome, icy s’mores-flavored dessert.  Check it!


The only downside?  These are so sweet that you literally want to die afterwards.  I found myself reaching for a piece of bread just to have something that didn’t taste like sugar.

A final confession: I have never in my life had Marshmallow Fluff until today.  I honestly don’t know how I feel about it.  Marshmallow goo in a jar?  It makes me a little bit nervous just thinking about what that stuff must be made out of…

THE VERDICT
Do you really have to ask how I feel about s’mores?  I can say with conviction – and I’m sure every American will agree – they effin rock.

5 Responses to “Number 61: S’mores”

  1. Laura in Cancun August 11, 2011 at 10:02 am #

    That smore is so beautiful it makes me want to cry.

    God bless America.

  2. Miss Angie August 11, 2011 at 1:41 pm #

    Mmmm… I get how you feel though. Too sweet, need something salty or not sweet after!

  3. IntenseGuy August 16, 2011 at 10:25 am #

    S’mores rock almost as much as you and Yankee Girl!

  4. Bridget August 23, 2011 at 8:42 pm #

    Okay, I have a few things to say. First of all-you’re a genius! Frozen s’more pops! RIght up there with the invention of the light bulb……you should enter them into some sort of contest! Second of all, what do you mean that was the first time you’ve ever had marshmallow fluff?? How is that possible, as at least one or two jars were ALWAYS in our kitchen cabinet our entire childhoods? Does this mean you’ve also never had a peanut butter fluff sandwich? If you still have some fluff and some peanut butter on hand, you must make one immediately. I’m not kidding!!

  5. Yankee Girl August 31, 2011 at 1:15 pm #

    Now my mouth is watering and I am dreaming of the lake….

Leave a Reply

