Number 11: Calamari

14 Aug

This past weekend, I was awoken by the sounds of thunderstorms mixed with live music.  As the hail started to beat down, I remembered, sadly, that my town was having a “Taste of” event that day.  I crossed my fingers all day, hoping that we’d see some sun, and finally, around 6:00pm, the rain decided it was time to chill.  I grabbed Dan and my good friend Allison, and we were on our way to stuff our faces!

I knew I could count on calamari making an appearance at this event, and I was surprised to find that a local Italian eatery, Carlos & Carlos, had two different kinds to offer!  The Calamari Carlos (pictured above) was grilled and tossed in a spicy tomato sauce.  It was the most tender and delicious calamari I have EVER had.  Y’know how calamari is often rubbery and tough?  This version was so tender that spearing it with my plastic fork and biting through it was as easy as if it were a normal piece of fish.  Incredible.

The booth also had your typical fried calamari, and I couldn’t help but partake.  There wasn’t anything particularly special about this dish, and I don’t really find anything special about fried calamari in general.  It’s definitely fun to eat, but I feel that all fried foods kind of just taste the same…fried.

After that, I had bossam from a Korean joint.  It was a tasty little lettuce wrap with kimchi, steamed pork, and shrimp puree.  What an awesome combo of flavors, and the lingering spice kept building once I had finished eating.  With all that spice hanging around in my mouth, I took the next logical step…


Hallelujah!  God bless freshly-mixed margs! Javier’s Mexican Restaurant has a marg menu that is seriously about 10 pages long, and they make the very best beverages around.  This disappeared pretty quickly after it was purchased.


And what good is a margarita without a healthy dose of chips and guac?  No good at all!  That’s why I headed over to Mago‘s booth and grabbed this pot of guac and a paper bag stuffed with tortilla chips for a mere $5.  You can’t really tell how deep this container is by the picture, but they dished out way more than five bucks worth. I ended up having tons to take home with me, which resulted in yummy guac burgers for dinner tonight!  After all this eating, plus meeting the worlds coolest dog (below- sorry about the blurriness), I was pretty happy with the day.

Just as we got back to our apartment, the heavens opened up and it started to rain again.  It was like the universe wanted me to eat tons and tons of glorious food!

THE VERDICT
Fried calamari dishes are a dime a dozen and, frankly, I’m sick of the stuff.  When you find a particularly amazing piece of calamari that can offer great flavor and a tender texture, that’s when you know you’ve got the good stuff.  I adore seafood, and the Calamari Carlos was some of the best I’ve had.  Excuse me- I have to go now and devise a plan on how to steal that dog…

6 Responses to “Number 11: Calamari”

  1. Big Onion August 15, 2011 at 7:41 am #

    One of my favorite calamari dishes is stuffed calamari. Someone in my family used to make them, and I haven’t had them in years. I just remember them being stuffed (the back end, not the tentacle part) with something delicious an cooked in butter … or something.

    Dang … I need to go find that recipe.

  2. Laura in Cancun August 15, 2011 at 8:28 am #

    I used to like calamari but stopped eating it because of the rubberiness. Glad that there’s something softer out there!

  3. Cinderella August 15, 2011 at 9:02 am #

    Kathryn,
    Your pictures are excellent! Made me hungry and thirsty, even though I just finished breakfast!

    Just came by to say hello, to thank you for visiting my blog, and to wish you “Good Luck!” on the $300 dollar Cheesecake Factory Gift Card Giveaway:)

  4. IntenseGuy August 16, 2011 at 10:43 am #

    I hear ya… Calamari is … well.. unexciting!

    🙂 Any luck on finding some roadkill?

  5. Allison @ PickyEatingRD August 16, 2011 at 2:13 pm #

    YUM YUM YUM!!! This is one food I can stand behind. I love calamari fried and grilled it is sooo good!

  6. Becki D. August 19, 2011 at 10:13 am #

    Awesome! I’ve only ever had fried calamari, which is fun just for the freaky factor. Now I must hunt down some grilled calamari and see what that’s all about.

Leave a Reply

