Number 22: Fresh Wild Berries

28 Aug

I made a mistake.  You see, earlier in the year, a good friend of mine brought me a bowl of raspberries. They were beautiful, ripe, wild berries from around her son’s lake house in Effingham, IL.  So what’s the mistake?   I ate them.  I didn’t think anything of it, and I ate them.  Only now have I realized that they’re on my list and, believe me, there are no wild berries to be found in Chicago right now (nor will there be until next summer, when this challenge is over).  So I’m afraid, folks, that you’re just going to have to take my word on this one.  However, I’m not just gonna leave you hanging.  I decided to do a post anyways (with non-wild blackberries).  Let’s all pretend that they’re wild, shall we?

I wasn’t quite sure what I wanted to do with these blackberries, but when I woke up to a cool breeze, I knew that it was pancake weather.  I was totally lame and used boxed pancake mix, dumped in about a tablespoon of China cinnamon, and got to flapjackin’ (that’s totally a verb, right?)

When I was done, I threw some of the blackberries on top, and that was that!  Super exciting post, right?

I do have some exciting news, though (and an explanation for why I have been slacking on blogging/commenting lately).  Some big changes are happening for me at the moment.  I left my job this past Friday and I’m ready to start fresh.  To kick off my new life, I am taking a trip.  First stop?  Europe!  I will be starting here:


No, I’m not going to a cemetery.  This is St. Andrews, Scotland.  I went to college here for 4 years (as did Prince William) and I’m so excited to head back after 3 years of missing the place.  After that, I’ll be going here:


London!  This is a SUPER old photo (from high school).  I’ve been there many times since then, and I’m excited to visit my best friend, Vicki, who lives over there.   After that, I’ll be headed to Prague!  I’ve never been there, so I’m afraid I don’t have a photo to share. 😦

That means I’m going to be out of commission for a little while – about 2 weeks, to be precise – but I hope to conquer many foods while I’m there and take tons of photos.  I’ll miss you all and see you when I’m back!

THE VERDICT
Oh, yeah.  I was talking about berries, right?  These particular berries were pretty sour and not so great.  I actually ended up avoiding them after a while and sticking to the pancakes.  The actual wild raspberries I had earlier in the year, however, were fab.  Sweet, tender, delish.  There were some bugs, yes, but I guess that comes with the territory.  And, hey, I need to eat bugs for this project anyways, so you could even consider it a two-fer!

6 Responses to “Number 22: Fresh Wild Berries”

  1. Laura in Cancun August 29, 2011 at 9:40 am #

    OH MY GOSH!! Congrats on the fresh start, and have a great time in Europe!

    My grandparents used to have a raspberry patch. Every summer we’d have this incredible desserts with fresh raspberries 🙂

  2. Miss Angie August 30, 2011 at 11:59 am #

    I am so hungry now. YUM. Those pancakes look amazing.

  3. IntenseGuy August 30, 2011 at 7:00 pm #

    Well, perhaps those berries were flipping their shirts and showing their boobies kind of wild?

    🙂

    Enjoy your trip / vacation / new career!!!

    I envy youse.

  4. Bridget August 31, 2011 at 1:29 am #

    Holy mother those flapjacks look good!! And I love the old school photo…..I’ve actually never seen that one before! You know that I commit to memory every photo that’s ever been taken of me. 😉 I know you will have the BEST time in Europe and I am JEALOUS! Take tons of pics and be safe! Love you! xoxo

  5. Amy September 7, 2011 at 7:29 pm #

    Do you ever stumble across something and swoon? I imagine you must… food at least. Well, that’s kind of how I feel about your blog. I am totally on board for your wild adventures and look forward to drooling in front of my computer waiting for the next installment 🙂

  6. Nancy September 25, 2011 at 2:03 pm #

    I’m so happy to see that you’ve “Gotten Out”. I’m running very behind on all my reading so I just saw this. Good luck with everything and keep in touch.

Leave a Reply

