Number 47: Chicken Tikka Masala

19 Sep

Alright, let’s get started on talking about my European adventures!  Dan and I started the trip off in St. Andrews, Scotland, a small college/tourist town (home to the most famous golf course in the world) where I spent all four of my college years.  The first couple of days, Dan and I spent walking around, getting over jet lag, and seeing the sights.

Here’s one of my favorite things to show people who visit St. Andrews.  Free whisky with every haircut?  Yes, please!

Anyways, after a couple of days on our own, my best friend, Vicki, and her boyfriend, Pete, came into town to join us.  Their train ended up being delayed by about 4 hours, so that left us wandering the town, looking for a place to eat at 10:30 (St. Andrews is NOT a happening place to be after 5pm and restaurants are rarely open past 10:00).  We got lucky, though, and stumbled upon an Indian restaurant called Maisha that was proudly displaying a sign that said “a la carte served until midnight!”  Score!

Knowing that I had several Indian foods that I needed to cross off my list, I scoured the menu and ordered the first one I saw: chicken tikka masala.  Now, I’m a chicken korma girl at heart.  I’ll go for the fatty, mild, coconut-flavored curries over the heavily-spiced tomato-based ones any day.  I found this tikka masala to be very similar to a korma.  It was very mild, unlike some tikka masalas- not even a hint of spice- creamy, and paired perfectly with some pilau rice.  It also was a beautiful, almost neon, orangey color that I doesn’t really belong in nature…except on oranges…and sweet potatoes…and carrots…ok, never mind.  It was delicious, ok!?

I’m a little sad, though, that I ate at Maisha and not at Jahangir, another Indian restaurant in St. Andrews.  I used to go there every Wednesday for a 3-course lunch with a group of guys and they called it the Feast of Men.  God only knows how I become a member of that group!  There was (actually, there still is) a Facebook group for it with all the “rules” on it!  Here’s some excerpts from the “Book of Men:”

“Commandments of Men:
Thou must neither be women nor boy but a man.
Thou must feast on the Wednesday and no other day but this day.
Thou must past the test of man to become one and to feast among them.
Thou be obliged to devour thee meat during thee fest.
Thou must know your place within thee feast.
Thou mustn’t seize thee meat juice out of turn.

Book of Vengeance:
If thou miss one feast then thou must ask thee men for forgiveness and thou must tell each course presented to you ‘I am shamed.’
If thou miss a second feast thou must also be expected to be shamed into silence by thee chants of ‘Shame Boy!’ from thee men.
If thou miss a third feast thou must also be expected to disgrace thyself by placing the Meat Juice upon thy forehead and thy cheeks.
If thou miss a fourth feast thou no longer are a man thou are but a boy.”

Complete and utter ridiculousness…

THE VERDICT
Chicken tikka masala is tasty, but I recently found out that it is believed to have been a British invention, and not a true Indian dish.  Well that sucks a little bit.  Next thing I know, they’ll tell me that peshwari naan was invented in the Caribbean!  Anyways, I’m just glad I can cross off one of my many Indian (or should I say “Indian”) dishes on the list!

6 Responses to “Number 47: Chicken Tikka Masala”

  1. Miss Angie September 19, 2011 at 1:43 pm #

    Love love love it. I LOVE Curry!

  2. IntenseGuy September 19, 2011 at 1:53 pm #

    I want to know if you printed out your list of 100 things to eat and took it with you on your trip?

    🙂

    Or do you have it memorized?

    And… please… any theories on how you got into that “men only group”? I bet you were so damn sexy and cute they broke the rules for ya.

  3. Bridget September 19, 2011 at 8:33 pm #

    Woah Intense Guy, methinks he’s getting a little frisky! I LOVE when the person I’m with orders chicken tiki masala so I can secretly eat off their plate while proclaiming to the world, “I’m intolerant to dairy!” ;(

  4. Bridget September 19, 2011 at 8:34 pm #

    And yes, I just realized that I called it Chicken “Tiki” masala!

  5. IntenseGuy September 20, 2011 at 7:54 am #

    Sorry… I’ll behave. 😛

  6. Laura in Cancun September 20, 2011 at 10:09 am #

    What is meat juice?

Leave a Reply

