Number 18: Fruit wine made from something other than grapes

21 Sep

Not only did I find some terrific venison pies at the Fife Farmers’ Market, but I also stumbled across the very cleverly named Cairn o’ Mohr (say it a few times to yourself) fruit wine stall.  Jackpot!  For a mere £6, I could choose between bramble, gooseberry, raspberry, and strawberry, amongst others.  We also got to taste any of the flavors before buying!  Double jackpot!


I chose raspberry wine, as raspberries are my fave, and toted my lovely bottle of wine back to our B&B.  The bottle was never opened up while we were in St. Andrews, mainly because I couldn’t get myself to drink wine out of a teacup and also because I couldn’t fit anything more into my stomach (liquid or otherwise) after this meal:


I would like to say I ate that entire thing, but I shared it with 3 other people.  I’ll work up to it, though.

Anyways, once Dan and I arrived in London to stay with Vicki and Pete, we decided to bust open that bottle of wine and couple it with a rousing game of Clue (or Cluedo, as it’s known in England).  Did you know, by the way, that they have re-vamped the game and made it all crazy?  The weapons changed (who kills people with a trophy??), they added other ethnicities (Mr. Green is black), and added new rooms (spa, theater), and even gave the different characters special powers.  Ridic.

While I was mainly focused on how badly I was losing at Clue, I also paid some attention to the wine.  Aaaand, I didn’t really like it.  I like dry wine, and this was incredibly sweet, as can be expected from wine made of berries.  It was so sweet that I had to brush my teeth afterwards.  That’s not really the kind of effect I want wine to have on me. Dancing around with a lampshade on my head and using a broom as a fake guitar, yes.  Post-wine tooth brushing sesh, no.

THE VERDICT
Raspberry wine?  Not for me.  Although, I have had peach ice wine before (made my Yankee Girl‘s dad) and it was near orgasmic.  Maybe it just depends on what kind of fruit wine you’re drinking and what board game you’re playing at the time…

6 Responses to “Number 18: Fruit wine made from something other than grapes”

  1. Big Onion September 21, 2011 at 2:01 pm #

    I’ve got a blueberry wine aging that I need to bottle soon. If it’s gross, I can always turn it into brandy, I guess!

  2. Bridget September 21, 2011 at 9:03 pm #

    “Mr. Green in the spa with a trophy!”???? Ridic indeed! And what kind of special powers are we talkin’? That is absurd!! Too bad you prefer a dryer wine. In my drinking days, I myself drank strictly white zin. I know, I know….
    p.s. “Gooseburry pies!”

  3. IntenseGuy September 22, 2011 at 9:25 am #

    My college roomie’s father made homemade wine – just a small barrel or so each year from a small plot of grapes and another small barrel from wild blackberries. A couple years, the wine didn’t turn out so good – and one year the blackberry wine didn’t ferment – so he added a couple gallons of “everclear” to get the alcohol level up… he gave his son 5 one-gallon jugs of the stuff to bring back to college with him “to get rid of it”.

    It was the best durn wine I think I have ever tasted.

  4. Laura in Cancun September 22, 2011 at 10:26 am #

    When I was a kid, I would always play Clue as a kind of dollhouse. I’d have the characters go in the different rooms to hang out, and there were several love affairs going on. (Miss Scarlett and Professor Plum would make out in the desk in the study a lot.)

  5. Amy September 22, 2011 at 5:30 pm #

    That plate of seafood? I literally drooled on my keyboard. No. Really. Also, I have to agree about the sweet berry wine… I’ve had it just once, and it was tooooo sweet for me. I want to learn how to make my own wine!

  6. Becki D. September 23, 2011 at 7:27 pm #

    WaitWaitWait…so you’re saying raspberry wine is a NO but black pudding is a GO?

Leave a Reply

