Number 6: Black Pudding

22 Sep

Now we’re getting into the real Scottish cuisine!  Black pudding…such an unassuming name for what many would think of as a horrific dish.  The main ingredient in black pudding, you ask?  Well, blood, of course!  Yes, blood.  I think in the UK it’s usually pork blood.  The blood is cooked, then cooled, congealed, and combined with a filler of some sort- oatmeal, most of the time.  Sounds fab, no?

I am a huge fan of weird concoctions like this- I mean,
head cheese rocked my world when I tried it!  And I’m not going to lie and say I haven’t had it before, because after 4 years of living in Scotland, you come face-to-face with black pudding on a regular basis.  I usually encountered it in full Scottish breakfasts, but you can also get it at pretty much any chip shop.

I decided to be hoity-toity this time, though, and got mine at an actual restaurant.  The slice of black pudding was served with some rocket on top and a red onion chutney.   It was definitely the fanciest black pudding I’ve ever seen!

The red onion chutney definitely added something to the dish- I loved the combo of sweet and savory flavors.  The black pudding itself was slightly spongy; it was not at all like a sausage in texture, but it was similar to one in taste (minus the saltiness of most sausages).  I definitely don’t agree with its ranking of #1 on this list of the Top 10 Most Gross & Disgusting Foods (yes, gross AND disgusting- a little redundant, but that’s okay).

A closer look.

THE VERDICT
I would like to say that it bothered me to be eating congealed blood mixed with oatmeal, as that would make me a normal person, but it really didn’t.  I enjoyed this a lot,  but it was nothing compared to my favorite Scottish specialty: haggis.  (I’ll cover that one next week!)

P.S. I’m leaving tomorrow on a very special journey to cross one of the most interesting foods off the list…I’ll tell you guys all about it on Monday when I get back!

5 Responses to “Number 6: Black Pudding”

  1. Laura in Cancun September 23, 2011 at 8:52 am #

    Yeah, that’s both gross and disgusting 🙂

    Have fun on your trip!

  2. Becki D. September 23, 2011 at 7:24 pm #

    Oh woman.

    You couldn’t pay me enough (well, OK, there is probably a number that WOULD be enough…) to eat this, and you’re telling me you ENJOYED it?!

    My stomach, it cringes!

  3. IntenseGuy September 25, 2011 at 7:44 am #

    Blood is the essense of life.. I’ve umm, “enjoyed” black pudding – it was rather rich tasting to me and Haggis.. oh, scrumptious!! (I like any pork scraped off the floor product).

    Hope your journey to find a listed food is succesful and more importantly, you enjoy it (and the food!)

  4. Nancy September 25, 2011 at 2:08 pm #

    I don’t think it sounds as disgusting as a number of other things. Whole lobster comes to mind. In fact, anything that has eyes still looking at me gets 100% on my creep-o-meter.

    Where does one go to get Blood Pudding anyway? I’d love to give it a try.

  5. Matthew Steeples October 8, 2011 at 4:10 am #

    I love black pudding. I’m a fan of Clonakilty. Here’s my review: http://dasteepsspeaks.blogspot.com/2011/10/its-either-black-or-white.html

Leave a Reply

