Number 75: Roadkill (Part 2)

28 Sep

I immediately felt comfortable at the fair.  While, initially, I had thought the trip could go all “Deliverance” on us, the small mountain town of Marlinton was both charming and welcoming.  So welcoming that Travel Channel star Andrew Zimmern was even there (although I didn’t see him).  As far as I could tell, nobody was chewing tobacco or holding shotguns.  As Dan, Rocket, and I walked up, we heard bluegrass music playing and were met with stalls and stalls of local goods.  There was everything from wood carvings and homemade jams to fudge and, well, hillbilly wind chimes!
We paid our whopping $2 each to sample the roadkill, grabbed our roadkill wristbands and “people’s choice” voting tickets, and we were on our way to taste the goodies!


The first thing we tried was Gator & Crawfish Gumbo.


The gumbo was tender, flavorful, and not at all chewy (like some gator) with a hint of spice!  Next on the menu was Deer Poop Soup.

This was, in fact, a yummy deer chili (with no poop involved!)  It was incredible.  And Dan found it really attractive to watch me do a shot of chunky, brown chili- ha!  Next, I had some Hardtop Hare, or BBQ rabbit to you and me.


This was deeelish, and the sticky-sweet homemade BBQ sauce really made it stand out.  After that, I tried some goat in gravy.


This one was another knock-out.  The gravy really gave it a Southern flavor and I wish I could have tried more.  I then moved onto the next food: Squirrel Gumbo and Mashed Potatoes on a Saltine.


The combination of textures and flavors was divine, but I couldn’t really tell if I got any squirrel meat or not- do you see any meat on that?  Anyways, onto the next one: Hillbilly Lobster (crawfish).



While this was super yummy, I think crawfish is a bit of a stretch for a roadkill festival.  I mean, have you ever seen a herd of crawfish crossing the road?  Just sayin’.  The next dish was a Bumper and Headlight Pork Bite with a zingy horseradish sauce.


This fried pork ball on a stick was ridiculously good.  It was super juicy, and the spicy sauce took it to the next level.  Good thing, too, because I waited in line for 35 mins for this one!  The next place had a huge line, too.  Probably because they were serving tons of different things!

I somehow missed out on the bear 😦 but got to taste some cream of asparagus soup with wild turkey (top), crow on a cracker (left), and groundhog gravy on a biscuit (right).


The soup was rich and delicious, with tender chunks of turkey, the crow was somewhat stringy and fishy but good, and the groundhog gravy on the biscuit was to die for.

While we were there, we also got to see the winner of the Miss Roadkill pageant, watch some live music, meet lots of friendly people (Rocket was helpful in that regard), buy pumpkin butter, and meet Smoky the Bear- there goes my bucket list!

THE VERDICT
Frankly, everything was incredible.  My favorite of them all was the groundhog gravy on the biscuit, but I would have eaten every single one again.  If this is what roadkill tastes like, then I’m buying a Hummer, moving to the woods, and driving like a lunatic from now on!  To be fair, I don’t think that any of this food was ACTUALLY roadkill.  I didn’t bother to ask because I didn’t want my hopes shattered, but I highly doubt they managed to all hit bears, squirrels, pigs, and crawfish within a day of the festival (and hit enough to feed a crowd.)  But I drove 24 hours, it’s called the Marlington Roadkill Cook-Off, and, by gosh, I’m counting it!

8 Responses to “Number 75: Roadkill (Part 2)”

  1. Bridget September 28, 2011 at 5:02 pm #

    Wow! I must say that all of these things sounds pretty darn good!–and that’s coming from me! Was the groundhog on a biscuit the one of a Ritz cracker? YUM! Anything on a Ritz is a-ok in my book! This fest sounds like a total blast, my kinda place! I can’t believe you drove so far! How did Rocket do in the car? I realize that you can’t respond to these questions so perhaps I will actually call you! xo

  2. IntenseGuy September 29, 2011 at 7:17 am #

    I love how those “hicks” could poke fun at themselves and just laugh it up.

    🙂

    Gosh, you really ate some “weird” (as in unusual) stuff! Crows? Squirrel? Ground Hog?

    Nice to know you will be a surviver if things ever get to “eating off the land).

  3. Allison @ PickyEatingRD September 29, 2011 at 11:38 am #

    I always say you are so much braver than I am when it comes to trying new foods! This fair is no exception haha.

  4. Amy September 29, 2011 at 11:49 am #

    Awesome kath!! Who knew? A roadkill festival- leave it to the hillbillies! That is quite a roadtrip you made for this but it does seem well worth it. All the food looked fun to try, but by far my favorite thing i saw were the hillbilly wind chimes. I’ll do the driving when you come to CO!!

  5. Becki D. October 10, 2011 at 4:21 pm #

    Alright this sounds like soooo much fun!! Glad ya went and reported back, authentic roadkill or not. 🙂

  6. Kelly @ Dare to be Domestic December 29, 2011 at 10:32 am #

    I would love to go to this – besides stuffing my tummy I can imagine that the people watching was EPIC!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Number 75: Roadkill (Part 1) | OMNIVORE100PROJECT - October 14, 2011

    […] Check out part 2 here! Bookmark on Delicious Digg this post Recommend on Facebook share via Reddit Share with Stumblers Tweet about it Subscribe to the comments on this post Tweet […]

  2. Oh. Em. Gee. (It’s Over.) | OMNIVORE100PROJECT - April 14, 2012

    […] Craziest Experience Number 75 – Roadkill Driving 12 hours to attend a roadkill cook-off in the mountains of West Virginia is crazy enough to […]

Leave a Reply

