Number 68: Haggis

29 Sep

Alright, let’s get back to my European adventures, shall we?  First of all, yes, I realize that this picture looks like a tiny t-rex head vomiting up dirt.  It is not.  This actually is a chicken breast stuffed with haggis, and I only wish the picture could capture the deliciousness of this meal, because it was one of the best meals of the entire trip.  I also wish I didn’t have to ruin everything by telling you what haggis actually is…

Haggis is the liver, lungs, and heart of a sheep, ground up and mixed with oatmeal and a few other things.  It’s traditionally encased in a sheep’s stomach, making for a large, round sausage-like thing.  Obviously, in this situation, the filling has been taken out of the casing and stuffed into a chicken breast.

So what does haggis taste like?  It is seriously BURSTING with meaty flavor.  I mean, look at that chicken.  They didn’t put a goddamn thing on that chicken.  No seasonings, no sauce- nothing.  The haggis has such a rich, meaty taste that it’s all you need to make this meal amazing.

I do wonder, however, how the Scots came up with this.  Who was cooking up a nice leg of lamb one day, looked over at the sheep’s organs splattered all over the floor, and thought, “hmm, maybe I should grind those up, then shove ’em into the sheep’s stomach, then eat the result…”  Thoughts like that never cross my mind, that’s for sure.  Then again, the Scots are the same people who used sheep’s stomach to make bagpipes, so they seem to be pros at out-of-the-box thinking when it comes to sheep-related inventions.

THE VERDICT
I don’t care what anyone thinks; haggis is seriously delish.  Unfortunately, though, it has been banned in the USA for some twenty odd years, although I heard recently that they were going to lift the ban soon (maybe they already have).  If it is still banned, all I’m sayin’ is, the next time you head over to the UK, give it a shot.  For me.  🙂

4 Responses to “Number 68: Haggis”

  1. IntenseGuy September 30, 2011 at 7:18 am #

    Aaaaaaaaaaahhhh “everything but the squeal food!

    And just in time for breakfast!!

    I’ve often wonder who the first one was that ate a lot of stuff.. like soft shell crabs – sea urchins – pig’s feet… but thankfully they did.

  2. Laura in Cancun September 30, 2011 at 8:46 am #

    Bagpapes were made of sheep stomachs? WTF?!

    Ok, so I know from experience that strange animal body parts can be delicious (in Mexico, they don’t waste a single part of a cow or pig) so haggis actually sounds delicious. 🙂

  3. Amy September 30, 2011 at 12:46 pm #

    Well, if you are saying it has been banned for 20 odd years in the US the catering company i used to work for was breaking some serious rules. I served it years ago at a Scottish function in RI- full on encased in the stomach. It was so repulsive looking, and i wrecked my wrist serving it that night, I don’t think I will ever have positive feelings towards the dish. Yours looked a lot better, I like the idea of stuffing it into chicken.

  4. Becki D. October 10, 2011 at 3:47 pm #

    Noooo thank you!

Leave a Reply

