Number 16: Epoisses

30 Sep

CHEEEEEESE!  There is nothing more wonderful in this world than cheese.  Anyone who doesn’t agree is either insane or lactose-intolerant.  Or insanely lactose-intolerant.  Anyways, I had a feeling that only my favorite little cheesemonger in St. Andrews, I.J. Mellis, would have this cheese, and I was right.  This place is the greatest.  I remember walking past the shop on my way to class and having my sinuses instantly cleared by the scents of stilton, muenster, and limburger wafting through the door.

When I walked in, I encountered a slight issue in that I didn’t know how to pronounce “epoisses”- I’m a moron when it comes to French.  Luckily, I had my Omnivore100 list on hand (I always do!) and just pointed to the one I wanted.  The woman showed me to the epoisses (pronounced eh-PWAHS) which just happened to be right on the counter in front of me!  Apparently, you can get an unpasteurized version (the real thing) or a pasteurized version (what I had), but the pasteurized version is very hard to get outside of France.  I also learned that epoisses is washed in brandy as it is ripening.  Ooh la la!  Here’s some more info about the cheese:

When they say “almost liquid interior,” they mean it!  The woman at the shop tried to cut us a sample slice, but ended up just giving me a blob on a piece of wax paper that we had to dip our fingers into.  It reminded me of brie, but slightly stronger and more gooey.  Basically, it was heaven.  Messy, messy heaven.

I order 100 grams of the stuff, then my friends and I grabbed some crackers, headed to the pier, and scarfed that cheese down!  I wish a I had another picture of the cheese besides that hideously over-exposed one up top, but I’m afraid I don’t.  I ate it too fast 😦

Let me just tell you something, though.  Sitting on the pier with gourmet cheese and crackers, soaking up some Scottish sun (paradox!), and being with my friends was the absolute best.   I mean, how often do you get this view while you’re having a snack?

THE VERDICT
Like brie, but pre-melted, epoisses had a rich, creamy flavor that I couldn’t quite put my finger on.  Basically, it rocked my world.   The only downside was that I had to share it!

4 Responses to “Number 16: Epoisses”

  1. Laura in Cancun September 30, 2011 at 4:11 pm #

    Of all the foods on your list, this is the most tempting one yet!

  2. Amy October 1, 2011 at 11:11 am #

    Everything about that looks amazing.

  3. IntenseGuy October 3, 2011 at 12:13 pm #

    Yummy yummy yummy I want gooey cheese in my tummy tummy tummy!

    🙂 Thanks for the pro-nun-ci-a-shun guide! I was clueless!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Number 74: Gjetost, or Brunost | OMNIVORE100PROJECT - October 5, 2011

    […] cheesemonger (or is it cheesemongress for a woman?) in St. Andrews where I bought my epoisses didn’t have any, but she did have some words of advice for me: “Try before you […]

Leave a Reply

