Number 2: Nettle Tea and Number 37: Clotted Cream Tea

3 Oct

After leaving Scotland, it was time for Dan and me to go to London and do something incredibly English.  So English that it makes me want to screw up my face, stick out my teeth, and do my worst British accent.  We had afternoon tea.  And not only that, but we had it at the National Gallery right in front of Trafalgar Square.  Dahling, how divine!

When we arrived at the National Gallery for our afternoon tea, I was thrilled to see nettle tea under the “herbal tea” section of their menu.  After selecting our tea, we were each served a tray with 3 different finger sandwiches (smoked salmon, ham, and cucumber), 3 different cakes (a mini banoffee pie, a little chocolate and toffee cake, and a lemon meringue tart), and a scone with jam and clotted cream.

Now, for anyone wondering what clotted cream tea is, it’s not actually a type of tea.  Having a “cream tea,” as it’s most often called, is simply the act of having tea with scones and clotted cream.

I’m not a tremendous fan of clotted cream, mainly because of the name.  The word “clotted” makes my arteries hurt every time I hear it.  I also don’t think clotted cream is as flavorful as butter.  Luckily, I’ll pretty much eat anything with jam slathered on top, especially if it’s a freshly-made scone, so I scarfed that baby.


As for the nettle tea, it was near identical to green tea in both appearance and taste.  There was nothing really special or interesting about it- hey, for all I know, they ran out of nettle tea and gave me green.

THE VERDICT
I’m always down for a cream tea.  Tea and scones are guaranteed to brighten up any afternoon, no matter how dull and dreary (and London is virtually always dull and dreary).  The nettle tea didn’t blow my mind, but its endless health benefits, ranging from lowered blood pressure to strengthened fingernails to hemorrhoid relief (ew!), made me feel good about drinking it.

4 Responses to “Number 2: Nettle Tea and Number 37: Clotted Cream Tea”

  1. IntenseGuy October 3, 2011 at 6:13 pm #

    Ah, right-o. Pip pip, cheerio and all that. They go to the loo there and drive on the other side of the road… and they tell us we are on the other side of the pond, but it’s really them.

    Well, a bloke like me does like his clotted cream – ever since his days in the nursery with his nanny.

    Okay.. I can’t keep that up. I do like Ladies Fingers… tell me… did you gain like 10 pounds on this trip?

  2. Miss Angie October 4, 2011 at 10:32 am #

    I love those scones! Did you get to try Devonshire cream? LOVE it!

  3. Laura in Cancun October 4, 2011 at 10:53 am #

    Tea by Trafalgar Square? fabulous 🙂

  4. Millions of Atoms Man October 4, 2011 at 2:11 pm #

    “Clot” should never be associated with food in any form.

Leave a Reply

