Number 87: Goulash

6 Oct

Finally, it’s time to move on to the Czech leg of the trip!  London was so dark and dreary that we had been wanting to head home, but once we hit Prague, we were re-energized.  It felt like the trip had just started, and it didn’t hurt that it was 80 degrees every day.  Plus, it was the most beautiful city I have ever been to.  I couldn’t wait to try the food.

Pretty much every restaurant had a sign outside advertising their goulash- it seemed to be the dish to try!  When Dan and I were wandering the castle grounds, we decided to just bite the bullet and head into the first place that had a sign for goulash outside.


This place fit our criteria!  After my first course of onion soup, I got my plateful of goulash and dumplings.  It looked delicious, and it was garnished with slices of onion and a piece of red bell pepper.  It was also accompanied by some dumplings and bread.

I have always thought that goulash was a soup, but this seemed to be more of a gravy or a really thick stew.  It was quite rich and flavorful, although lacking in the meat department, and the first bites were incredible.  As I continued, though, I started to feel like they had dumped an entire can of Morton’s salt into my meal.  Good thing I had an ice cold Pilsner Urquell to wash it down!

The dumplings also took me by surprise.  They were more like dense slices of bread than the doughy chunks I have always had.  The goulash was the perfect consistency for dipping, though, and the starchy dumplings helped take away from the saltiness of the stew.

THE VERDICT
This was one of those things that started off really delicious and ended up just so-so.  My heart kind of hurt by the end and I couldn’t help but think I had just taken a bite out of a salt lick.  Stay tuned tomorrow, however, for the very best thing I ate on the entire trip!  Any guesses?

6 Responses to “Number 87: Goulash”

  1. Laura in Cancun October 6, 2011 at 4:25 pm #

    The soup/gravy consistency reminds me of Mexican “mole” sauce 🙂

  2. Allison @ PickyEatingRD October 6, 2011 at 9:16 pm #

    In all honestly I didn’t even really know what goulash was. It does look a little thick so I could see where by the end you were kinda over it!

  3. Miss Angie October 7, 2011 at 11:32 am #

    Mmmmm… And you are SO CUTE!

  4. Amy October 7, 2011 at 12:54 pm #

    If I remember correctly you used to eat handfuls of salt as a young child, so I don’t quite understand the problem… oh right the whole heart-stopping thing. So you like goulash more than soup? Is that what I am understanding? I definitely want to visit Prague I’m jealous… looks awesome

  5. IntenseGuy October 9, 2011 at 11:14 am #

    Miss Angie is correct. 🙂 Umm.. Goulash… is an acquired taste I guess.. I’ve not eaten enough of it to acquire a taste for it.

  6. Becki D. October 10, 2011 at 3:41 pm #

    My in-laws are always threatening to make “The Best Goulash Ever!” but so far, they’ve never followed through. This is good, because the name says “G-NAASTY” to me!

Leave a Reply

