Number 15: Hot dog from a street cart

11 Oct

I know what you’re thinking: what the hell am I doing getting a hot dog from a street cart in Prague, of all places?  I mean, hot dogs are an American tradition- surely I should be heading to NYC to get one.  Well, here’s the thing.  We don’t have street carts in Chicago.  I know, it’s a tragedy.  We occasionally have the odd guy wheeling an ice cream cart around the beach, but I have never seen a hot dog street cart in the city.  So when I stumbled across this Eurohotdog stand in the middle of Prague, I just had to get one.

I was a little weirded out by the picture of the hot dog on the cart- it kind of looked like an unpeeled pink banana…it also looked disturbingly phallic…I made Dan order.

When I got it, it was in a hollowed-out piece of bread instead of a bun, which I found interesting.  Unfortunately, the bread was so thick that it kind of overpowered the taste of the dog.  Now, I’m a purist when it comes to hot dogs.  I don’t like a whole bunch of toppings- in fact, I don’t like any toppings at all.  I like to taste my meat, so I didn’t dig the super-thick bun/roll thing.  The hot dog itself tasted pretty much like the ones you buy at the supermarket and microwave.  Mediocre, but edible.

I might be a hot dog snob, though- I’m used to all-beef Vienna hot dogs, juicy Polish hot dogs, soft poppy seed buns…I’m drooling just thinking about them.  BUT when again in my life will I get to eat a hot dog in the center of Prague as a tram drives by?

THE VERDICT
I probably should have gone to NYC for a kick-ass hot dog, but there’s just something about trying to order a hot dog in Czech that’s just awesome.  And by awesome, I mean humiliating.  Which is why I made Dan do it.  Anyways, the hot dog wasn’t amazing, but eating a Czech hot dog is now something I can cross off my non-existent bucket list.

5 Responses to “Number 15: Hot dog from a street cart”

  1. Miss Angie October 11, 2011 at 4:49 pm #

    The Hotdogs in NYC are pretty good-though not as amazing as I expected.

  2. Big Onion October 12, 2011 at 7:26 am #

    I’m glad that your first street cart hot dog was from something as romantic as a vendor in Prague, and not some scuzzy Lucky Dog vendor on Bourbon Street in New Orleans.

    I’m a purist like you, but I do like a light slather of mayo. (I’m not a mustard fan, and DEFINITELY not a ketchup fan.)

  3. Laura in Cancun October 12, 2011 at 9:03 am #

    I had a hot dog in NYC once… it was nice, but nothing I can’t get in Virginia.

    That hot dog looks WEIRD.

  4. IntenseGuy October 12, 2011 at 9:32 am #

    I enjoy hotdogs in almost every form (and hotness). I don’t care for “massive rolls” either.

    Most times I eat mine with just mustard or just ketchup – but sometimes I go all out – and have some hotdog on my condiments.

    🙂 Prague looks like a nice and tidy town.

  5. Amy October 12, 2011 at 3:16 pm #

    There you go! So you didn’t miss out on your opportunity to eat a hot dog from a street cart when we passed by the vendor within our first moments on the smelly streets of New Orleans. I haven’t really eaten hot dogs for years but recently have found myself enjoying them with a pickle spear [I’m not a fan of ketchup or mustard, and most relishes are sweet and not delicious]. I love that yours was sheathed in dough and embarrassed you too much to order it 🙂

Leave a Reply

