Number 34: Sauerkraut and Number 56: Spaetzle

13 Oct

Okay, y’all, this is the very last blog post about my European adventures!  That means I can finally get back to buying things, cooking them, and taking much more palatable photographs (hopefully).  Now, I am always up for killing two birds with one stone, and when I saw “spaetzle with sauerkraut” on the menu at Deminka (the place where I got the steak tartare), I was ready to rumble!

I had always heard that spaetzle was a kind of dumpling or noodle, but for some reason I kept picturing pierogi-type things.  When a little bucket full of thin, shapeless strips of dough came out, I was definitely surprised.  Amongst the spaetzle were chunks of potato, ham, and pieces of sauerkraut.


The spaetzle was really oily- I’d say too oily- and kind of tasted a bit like gnocchi, but less substantial.  The sauerkraut was a nice addition to the dish, as the tangy flavor helped cut through the starchiness of the dough and potato.  I don’t usually do cabbage- I think it tastes like dirty water- but I could handle it in this case.

The overall feeling of the meal was heavy, oily, and I only could make it through about half of it.  Dan’s cheese-stuffed chicken with a rich cream sauce and basmati rice was infinitely better (and fattening!)

THE VERDICT
I didn’t really see spaetzle as a dumpling or a noodle; I think I would call it a “dough chunk” if I could choose a name for it.  But that doesn’t sound that great, does it?  “Waiter, kindly fetch me a plate of dough chunks!”  As for the sauerkraut, I have come to the conclusion that it’s fine only in small doses and only if it’s mixed with other things.  Otherwise, keep it off my plate!

4 Responses to “Number 34: Sauerkraut and Number 56: Spaetzle”

  1. IntenseGuy October 13, 2011 at 12:54 pm #

    I like cabbage and sauerkraut. Spaetzle, being a German concoction, always seems “little pasta dumplings” to me. In any event, heavy oily food is a turnoff. Cheese-stuffed chicken on the hand, sounds not only yummy but intriguing.

    Welcome back to the USA food hunting grounds!

  2. Amy October 14, 2011 at 1:04 pm #

    I made spaetzle in culinary labs- it is fun to make! It never really was anything particularly special to me… but maybe if you made it you would enjoy it more. Maybe it requires tools only real kitchens have though… I don’t remember. Can I go with you on your next European culinary adventure please?

  3. Bridget October 21, 2011 at 11:22 am #

    I’ve been meaning to incorporate sauerkraut into my diet but keep forgetting to buy it! Thank you for reminding me! I need all that good bacteria! 😉 I actually think this dish looks really good but your description of it sounds pretty gross. 😦 Too bad!!!

  4. Deborah September 11, 2012 at 7:40 pm #

    This sounds like a dish I recall having at a fest in Germany. However, they were cooking it in a HUGE cast iron skillet that was hanging over a fire. Bits of the spaetzle, sauerkraut and ham got really crispy. I’ll bet if yours had cooked longer in a hot skillet it would have been better. I just made homemade spaetzle this weekend and now that I know how easy they are to make I am going to recreate this dish!

Leave a Reply

