Number 95: Mole Poblano

26 Oct


Before I even get started, I need to admit to the fact that every time I see or say the word “mole,”  it makes me want to burst out into an Austin Powers-style word explosion: “mole, mole, mole, mole, mole!!!!”  I tried mole poblano years ago and wasn’t a big fan of it, but I’m always open to giving things a second shot.  When I found a jar full of mole poblano paste at Borough Market in London, I thought it would be the perfect opportunity to try it without making it from scratch (we all know I enjoy taking the easy way out).

The contents of the jar looked a bit like chunky, oily, chocolate.  It smelled deliciously chocolatey, too.  The instructions were simple: dilute and heat until thick.  Little did I know that “until thick” would be 2 hours later.  Meanwhile, I followed this recipe and started prepping my other ingredients.



If you had walked into the room while I was cooking the mole, you would have sworn that I was making hot fudge sauce.  The room was filled with a rich, chocolatey smell, and the thick brown sauce I was stirring looked like something you’d put on ice cream, not chicken enchiladas.  I knew that mole was made with cocoa powder, but I never realized that the taste of cocoa was so prominent in the sauce.  It was spicy, sweet, and smoky at the same time, and really added another dimension to the enchiladas (which were really effing good, by the way!)  I thought I would hate it because it would be too spicy, but it had just the right amount of kick to it.

THE VERDICT
I can understand why I didn’t love mole poblano in the past.  When you’re so accustomed to sour cream, guacamole, and salsa, with their straightforward flavors, mole poblano can be a bit confusing with its unexpected flavors.  I guarantee, though, that if you move past that first bite and keep eating, you’ll grow to love it.

5 Responses to “Number 95: Mole Poblano”

  1. Laura in Cancun October 26, 2011 at 3:16 pm #

    I’ve never been a fan of mole, despite so many years in Mexico!

    • Laura in Cancun October 26, 2011 at 3:19 pm #

      And it’s pronounced “mole-ay” (not sure if you knew that based on your Austin Powers reference haha) unfortunate spelling, but not so bad in Spanish 😛

  2. Amy October 27, 2011 at 10:47 am #

    I love enchiladas con mole!!! yum

  3. IntenseGuy November 3, 2011 at 11:32 am #

    Like the bull-fighting cry? Mol-ay? Hmm.. didn’t know that…

    I’ve been watching this TV show by a Chef in Chicago… Rich Bayless – if you never saw it – you’d probably love it. Fontera (I think it is, is the name of his restaraunt)… The TV show is called something like a “Taste of Mexico” – anyhooo – he makes like 30 gallons of “MOLE sauce” on one of the shows… I was almost tempted to eat it.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Number 3: Huevos Rancheros | OMNIVORE100PROJECT - November 9, 2011

    […] runnier next time.  Other than that, they were deelish…and they strangely tasted a LOT like the enchiladas I made a couple weeks ago… Bookmark on Delicious Digg this post Recommend on Facebook share via […]

Leave a Reply

