Number 96: Bagel and Lox

3 Nov

The most exciting thing in the world happened to me recently.  I went to a charity dinner with one of my friends, and when we arrived, we found that there was a pretty rockin’ silent auction.  When I was perusing the prizes, I noticed a certificate that said “One Year’s Worth of Bagels from Chicago Bagel and Bialy.”  I bid on that shit like there was no tomorrow, and left with a certificate for 144 bagels for a mere $25 dollars.  And yes, in my mind, that’s the most exciting thing in the world.  The other day, I claimed my first dozen, grabbed some smoked salmon, and ran home to sample the goods.

I’ve had many a bagel with lox in my day.  In fact, I managed to rustle up an old photo from back when I was living in Scotland.  My friends and I would visit a local fruit-picking farm when the weather was nice, and they would give us all sorts of fresh farm food, including bagels and lox.  Here’s a photo of what we’d feast on when we visited:

I’ve always loved the texture and flavor of smoked salmon.  People think I’m crazy because the only kind of fish that I enjoy eating is raw fish.  I would never order a plate of grilled salmon, but slap some salmon sashimi in front of me, and I’ll gobble it down like it’s the last food on earth.  I think I’m one step away from doing a Bear Grylls and literally biting into a live salmon

Anyways, combine smoked salmon with rich cream cheese, crisp red onion, and a fluffy bagel, and you’ve got a happy Kathryn.  I literally ate my entire package of smoked salmon in one sitting, and didn’t regret it one bit.  The whole wheat bagel was soft and delicious, and I loved every second of it. Now, I am currently looking forward to my next dozen bagels so I can do it all over again…and again…and again.


THE VERDICT
Clearly, I’m a fan.  A HUGE fan.  Bagels are strangely one of my favorite foods, and smoked salmon is up there, too.  Just looking at these pictures is making my mouth water…I’ve gotta go…

6 Responses to “Number 96: Bagel and Lox”

  1. Beth November 4, 2011 at 8:49 am #

    Yay! I, too, am a huge fan of bagels, and lox, and salmon in general (especially raw, but I’ll take it however I can get it). Those pics are indeed droolworthy….

  2. IntenseGuy November 5, 2011 at 12:49 am #

    Mmmmm! That spread of goodies looks so yummy!

    So a year’s supply = 144 bagels?

    I’d be wondering what to do the other 221 mornings….

  3. Monique November 6, 2011 at 9:16 pm #

    I’m 26 and I’ve still never tried this!!!

  4. Amy November 7, 2011 at 1:04 pm #

    That is definitely an amazing deal. I would probably eat 3 bagels a day very often and it would be terrible. yet incredible. Yum!

  5. Becki D. November 8, 2011 at 8:29 am #

    1) I am sorry that I clicked the link and watched the Bear Grylls video. Freak!

    2) Bagels are the bomb. I try to avoid them when I’m not preggo cause they go straight to my already jiggly belly…but bagels pretty much sustained me through the first trimester of both pregnancies. Cause I know you wanted to know that. 🙂

    3) I have never had a bagel with lox. Will do ASAP!

  6. Big Onion November 8, 2011 at 4:20 pm #

    *drool*

Leave a Reply

