Number 32: Clam Chowder in a Sourdough Bowl

7 Nov

I’m sick 😦  Not puking-my-guts-out sick, but just generally-feeling-like-crap sick.  My throat hurts so much that it kills to even drink water, and I just want to blob out on the couch and never move again. Not only that, but Dan is sick, too.  Oh, and the dog is sick, too.  So we’re one big miserable family.

So what have I been doing during my illness?  Certainly not washing these…

And let’s just say that the laundry basket is more than a little bit full.  Yep, we’re all feeling a little bit lazy around here right now.

My days have primarily consisted of watching episode upon episode of “The Real Housewives of Beverly Hills,” checking Facebook every thirteen seconds, staying in my pajamas until 4pm, and feeling sorry for myself.  And since no homemade chicken soup was appearing on my doorstep, I figured clam chowder would do.  I would love to say that I suddenly felt a rush of inspiration and whipped up the clam chowder on my own, but that didn’t happen.  I didn’t even scoop out the bread bowl by myself.  Nope, Panera was the provider of this meal.

I haven’t had clam chowder in a bread bowl in YEARS.  I think I was ten when I last had it, and I was on Fisherman’s Wharf in San Fran (which is really the way you should do it!)  This time was slightly less exciting, but just as delicious.  It was creamy, buttery, and rich – the kind of comfort food that makes you feel instantly better – and it was filled with tender chunks of clam and potato.  I loved dipping the pieces of sourdough bread into it.  After I had finished the soup, I had no intention of attacking the bowl itself, but I couldn’t help myself.  It was too good to say no to!

THE VERDICT
Joy.  It was pure joy.  It still hurts to swallow, but this indulgent soup definitely eased the pain for a while.

P.S. I actually have been doing a little something with my time on the couch.  I have decided to participate in NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month) this year and I’m in the process of crafting a 50,000 word novel in just 30 days!  If you’re participating, please let me know- I’d love a support system!

7 Responses to “Number 32: Clam Chowder in a Sourdough Bowl”

  1. c.c. November 7, 2011 at 6:51 pm #

    i signed up with the grand intention of participating, but i’ve not yet. shame on me. :]

  2. Becki D. November 8, 2011 at 8:24 am #

    You know I don’t think I have ever had clam chowder. My Mom used to make chicken corn chowder or some such ridiculousness every so often and I hated it and have held a grudge against anything with the word “chowder” in its title since.

    Maybe it’s time to give chowder another chance…

  3. IntenseGuy November 8, 2011 at 11:06 am #

    Oh! That looks delicious. I love Clam Chowdah and I love sour dough (and I love visiting San Francisco too!)

    I hope you, Dan and the sad lookin’ doggy all feel better really soon.

    If you decide to share your writing – I’m up for it!

  4. Big Onion November 8, 2011 at 4:19 pm #

    I miss clam chowder. Folks down here look at me like I’m crazy if I mention some mollusk other than oysters.

    Good luck with NaNoWriMo! Always dreamed of writing a novel. Right now I need to write a thesis so I can finally be done with school. Baby steps. Ha!

    Hope you feel better!

  5. Amy November 9, 2011 at 2:49 pm #

    Ha! Soup you love! Everything is better out of a sourdough bowl.

    I have thought about writing a novel my whole life. Just for fun- I don’t have a good idea and I’m not a writer. Good for you!! That’s exciting you’ll have to let me know your story line!

  6. Amy November 13, 2011 at 7:56 am #

    Is there anything better than clam chowder in a sour dough bowl? I think not.

    Hope you are feeling better!

  7. Bridget December 1, 2011 at 12:13 am #

    YUM! This looks awesome. Heaven. I do miss San Fran…..and our days and nights on Fisherman’s Wharf, fraternizing with, who else, the fishermen. ahh…..

Leave a Reply

