Number 3: Huevos Rancheros

9 Nov

Hi, all.  I’m feeling slightly better now- working on my novel for NaNoWriMo has been taking up my life, but other than that, things are good.  Is it getting cold where you live?  It certainly is over here in Chicago.  And ever since the weather has started getting a bit chillier, I have been craving warm, hearty meals.  Cue the huevos rancheros!  Can you believe that I’ve never had these before?

The first problem I encountered when trying to make huevos rancheros was that every single recipe (and I mean every. single. recipe.) was different.  Some people served the dish with a  homemade salsa, while others served it with a soupier sauce.  Some used store-bought salsa from jar.  Some fried the eggs in the ranchero sauce, and some fried them in a separate pan.  After much deliberation, I ended up choosing this recipe, which seemed pretty simple and decently authentic.

You start by cutting up some green pepper, red pepper, onions, and garlic, then you add tomatoes and spices.  Once the sauce has simmered for a bit, you crack in your eggs (I made enough for 4 people…because Dan and I are pigs…)


Then you cover the pan and let the eggs set.  Now, the recipe said to cover it for 7-10 minutes.  I recommend closer to 7, because I did 10 and my eggs came out more hard-boiled than fried!  It would have been better to have runnier eggs, I think.


After that, you quickly fry a tortilla (or two) per person and you dish the sauce and eggs over it.  Then, you can choose to add beans, rice, guac, sour cream, cheese, anything!  I threw a couple of spoonfuls of black beans on each plate.

THE VERDICT
Amazing.  Seriously.  The ranchero sauce was super flavorful and everything just came together really beautifully.  I definitely recommend black beans on the side, too, for a touch of starchiness.  Also, like I mentioned before, I’d make the eggs a bit runnier next time.  Other than that, they were deelish…and they strangely tasted a LOT like
the enchiladas I made a couple weeks ago…

6 Responses to “Number 3: Huevos Rancheros”

  1. IntenseGuy November 9, 2011 at 1:49 pm #

    Seems like a lot of “Mexican” food is the same-old same-old ingredients served in only slightly different ways. Some of the food is pretty bland (like refried beans) and some of it too hot to taste so why would you “eat” it?

    I’m glad you are feeling better! How about Dan and the doggy?

  2. MondoMOM November 9, 2011 at 5:06 pm #

    Those eggs look amazing! I am seriously craving this right now. I might have to head to the kitchen right now!

  3. c.c. November 9, 2011 at 9:57 pm #

    yep, i’m glad you’re feeling better, too. and glad you’re working so diligently on your book. :]

  4. Laura in Cancun November 10, 2011 at 10:43 am #

    Yes, definitely a lot of different recipes for these! Pretty much just eggs and salsa, however you like it haha

  5. Bridget December 1, 2011 at 12:15 am #

    Oh my, this looks delicious and is making me crave Mexican food like never before. I used to eat Mexican about 3 times a week but not since I’ve been home. This needs to change starting…..now!

  6. Kelly @ Dare to be Domestic December 29, 2011 at 9:15 am #

    this sounds SO good. Makes me long for my favorite breakfast I had on my honeymoon which was steak and eggs much like this. My husband hates eggs, all kinds… he’s so strange. I can totally see making this one AM for us and just putting sausage or even left over chicken on his.

Leave a Reply

