Number 77: Hostess Fruit Pies – Revisited (Kinda)

6 Dec

After I posted my Hostess Fruit Pie post about a month ago, I found an email in my inbox from Mr. Onion.  He asked if I had tried Hubig’s fruit pies, which are apparently the patron pies of New Orleans.  Being a Chicagoan, I hadn’t, so Mr. Onion insisted on sending me some.  I never expected, however, that he would send me seven flavors: lemon, coconut, apple, chocolate, banana, pineapple, and peach!  Woot!

Before we go any further, let me explain why I didn’t take any pictures of the pies (I borrowed the one up top from
here).  When I got the pies in the mail, I ate one before I even thought to take a picture.  Then I kept eating them and thinking, “oh, I’ll take a picture tomorrow…”  Finally, there was one pie left – banana – which I left on the kitchen counter while I went shopping.  When I got back, the pie was gone and I found myself looking into a pair of very guilty eyes.

So basically, I didn’t get to try banana, but I’m not really a banana kind of gal anyways.  Now let’s talk about how Hubig’s pies looked and tasted compared to Hostess pies.

My observations:
1. The Hubig’s pies looked a lot like Hostess pies, but Hubig’s pies were a bit smaller and much softer/flakier.
2. The expiration dates on the Hubigs pies were actually about a week from when I got them, as opposed to the year or so that you get with a Hostess pie.
3. The fruit in the Hubig’s pies was much more believably real.  Less rubber, more fruit.

While I didn’t adore the fruit pies (although they were infinitely better than the Hostess ones), the coconut and chocolate pies were absolutely, positively, ohmygod amazing.  The coconut pie kind of tasted like a Boston creme pie and the chocolate one tasted like it was full of chocolate pudding…they were both absurdly delicious.

Thank you SOOO much to Mr. Onion for sending them my way!  Those pies made my Thanksgiving week even more decadent than it already was 🙂

3 Responses to “Number 77: Hostess Fruit Pies – Revisited (Kinda)”

  1. Laura in Cancun December 6, 2011 at 5:41 pm #

    Now I really want to take a chocolate pie and coconut pie and smush them together.

  2. Big Onion December 7, 2011 at 8:51 am #

    Glad you (and your pup!) enjoyed them!

    I just felt so bad that you had choke down a Hostess pie that I felt it my duty (obligation?) to send you some Hubigs.

    The coconut is my favorite, btw. And I’ll never understand how the lemon pie is worse for you (according to the nutritional info) than the coconut. Haha.

  3. IntenseGuy December 7, 2011 at 9:22 am #

    🙂 Sounds like the pooch is feeling better. 🙂

    While any pie would be better than a Hostess, Mr. Onion really sent you a treat!

    *Giggles at your lack of disipline with cameras, food, and eating*

Leave a Reply

