Number 100: Snake

7 Dec

I had been hearing a lot lately about a place downtown called Hot Doug’s.  Everyone was telling me how awesome it was, how it had been on tons of food shows, and how you have to wait for like 2 hours to get in.  At first, I thought it was just a regular hot dog joint, but when I went online and checked out the specials menu, I knew I had to go there immediately.

They have every kind of sausage you can think of – elk, venison, duck, crayfish – all made with awesome ingredients and covered with delicious toppings.  One sausage stood out on the menu as I was reading it: Chardonnay and Jalapeno Rattlesnake Sausage with Prickly Pear Raita and Asiago Cheese.  Score!

I drove out there as quickly as I could yesterday.  Because of the rumors that you have to wait in line for hours, I went around 2:30 so I could avoid the lunchtime crowds.  It worked, and not only did I wait in line for less than 5 minutes, but I also got a parking spot right in front of the place!

It was very unassuming from the outside…and from the inside.  It was only the menu items that made you realize you weren’t in Kansas anymore, Dorothy.  (Note the Jackalope on the wall- awesome.)


Hot Doug himself takes your order, and he was an incredibly friendly and welcoming guy.  The service was awesome, and you can’t say that about too many hot dog places downtown.  I ordered the rattlesnake sausage (and another sausage that I’ll tell you about tomorrow) and within a couple of minutes, they brought it out.

I loved how it looked- the prickly pear raita gave it a bright purple tinge and anything with shredded Asiago cheese on top looks good to me!  I took a bite and immediately flew off to heaven.  There was just something about the sweet prickly pear sauce, the salty cheese, and the savory sausage that went together so well.  The snake sausage itself tasted pretty pork-like, with a bit of spice from the jalapenos.  Very tender and juicy.  If I hadn’t have been so full from eating the other sausage, too, I would have gotten another one.

THE VERDICT
My first verdict is that Hot Doug’s is amazing.  As for the snake, it was pretty nondescript (at least in this situation).  Like I said before, I would have thought it was pork sausage.  The entire combination of everything, however, was absolutely dreamy.  I’ll happily pay another $8 for a meal like that!

7 Responses to “Number 100: Snake”

  1. Laura in Cancun December 7, 2011 at 11:37 am #

    What? Oh my gosh that looks and sounds incredible!!! I really need a decent hot dog

  2. Miss Angie December 7, 2011 at 4:11 pm #

    I want to eat there! That place looks amazing!

  3. Amy December 8, 2011 at 3:46 pm #

    That place looks amazing. I think you will have to take your whole birthday weekend off (or just don’t work!) so you can take me to some of these incredible places you’ve found on your journey. Let’s gorge ourselves on delicious food the whole time!

  4. IntenseGuy December 9, 2011 at 6:38 am #

    I wonder what that sauage maker looks like – the mechanical machine (not the operator)!

    Hmm.. do they use every thing in a snake including the rattle like they do with the pig and its squeal?

    🙂

  5. Becki D. December 9, 2011 at 10:14 am #

    And this one? I would totally eat this one with you. YUM!

  6. Kelly @ Dare to be Domestic December 29, 2011 at 8:44 am #

    SO need to go to Hot Dougs! I will be on my list of places to see in Chicago [the husbands family lives up that way so eventually we’ll make it there].

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Number 23: Foie Gras | OMNIVORE100PROJECT - December 8, 2011

    […] There were about four big chunks on the sausage, which, by the way, was a much smaller sausage than the rattlesnake one.  When I first bit into it, I was immediately struck by how rich the whole thing was.  The foie […]

Leave a Reply

