Number 23: Foie Gras

8 Dec


Alright, it’s time to fill you all in on the other sausage I got while I was at Hot Doug’s: the Foie Gras and Sauternes Duck Sausage with Truffle Aioli, Foie Gras Mousse, and Fleur de Sel.  Does that not sound like the most awesome thing ever?

Speaking of awesome, let’s talk a little bit more about how awesome Hot Doug’s is.  First of all, I love how they have tons of pictures of celebs on the walls, all of which have blatantly never visited the place.  I mean, could you imagine Britney Spears walking into a sausage superstore?  That sounds like the beginning of a bad joke…  Anyways, another awesome thing about Hot Doug’s?  This quote:


Okay, back to the sausage.  I was surprised by how generous they were with the foie gras.  There were about four big chunks on the sausage, which, by the way, was a much smaller sausage than the rattlesnake one.  When I first bit into it, I was immediately struck by how rich the whole thing was.  The foie gras mousse was kind of mayo-like and the foie gras itself is naturally really rich.  Combine that with sausage, and you have a heart-stopping meal on your plate.  But it was goooood.  The fleur de sel helped to bring out the flavor, and I kind of liked the combination of cold foie gras and warm sausage.  Dan was near speechless when he took his first bite.  I think he simply emitted a combination of blissful groans.

THE VERDICT
I kept trying to compare the flavor of the foie gras to something else, but the only thing I could come up with was pate.  Pretty obvious, huh?  It was sooo good, but it was also sooo rich.  I had to keep taking bites of the rattlesnake sausage to “cleanse” my palate with something lighter (because it’s totally normal to cleanse your palate with snake…)  Later on in the day, I kept having taste flashbacks of the foie gras and they kind of made me feel a little bit sick.  I think the moral of this story is moderation, moderation, moderation.   One small chunk of foie gras = perfect.  Four big chunks of foie gras = slightly nauseating.

6 Responses to “Number 23: Foie Gras”

  1. IntenseGuy December 9, 2011 at 6:41 am #

    LMAO at “because it’s totally normal to cleanse your palate with snake…”

    …Encased Meats… hmmm.. fine words indeed… LOL

    …and thanks for sparing us any Britney jokes… it would have “been too easy”!

    You’ve been finding some great quips on this “food adventure”!!

  2. Becki D. December 9, 2011 at 10:12 am #

    How do you keep finding awesome places like this??

    I mean, it’s WEIRD….cause I’m totally jealous but also a bit nauseous just thinking about the whole sausage/fois gras/funky place experience.

    Keep experimenting, bloggy buddy! 🙂

  3. Laura in Cancun December 9, 2011 at 3:28 pm #

    Jealous!

  4. Judy Jetson December 9, 2011 at 10:14 pm #

    You are such an adventerous eater! I have been wanting to try this place for a long time. You have inspired me to make the trip!

  5. Cathy December 28, 2011 at 11:45 am #

    I have never had foie gras, but now I know to just have a little if it’s ever offered to me.

  6. Kelly @ Dare to be Domestic December 29, 2011 at 8:40 am #

    I have never eaten foie gras and until recently didn’t have a desire to try it – but after watching a few food people go to THIS place they all said you can’t go without trying it. My husband is obsessed with wanting to try it. Thank you so much for this review… we’ll share it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

