Number 64: Currywurst

13 Dec

The Chicago German Christmas Market (called the Christkindlmarket) has been up and running in Dailey Plaza for a few weeks now, and this weekend, Dan and I finally got down there for a couple of hours.  And, by the looks of it, the entire rest of the city of Chicago were there, too.

The place was so packed that we could barely move, but we tried to make the best of it anyways.


The first thing we did was wait in line…and wait in line…and wait in line…it was a bit maddening.  Finally, we reached the front and ordered our food.  I got my currywurst and Dan ordered a brat with sauerkraut and German mustard.

The first thing I thought when I tried the currywurst was “this tastes just like sausage with ketchup.”  When I went home, I went onto Wikipedia and read that currywurst is exactly that: sausage with a ketchupy sauce.  Supposedly, currywurst is fast food over in Germany, which makes sense.  It’s simple, it’s easy, and I imagine it would make great drunk food.

After chowing down on sausages, we waited in line again, this time for some spiced wine served in tiny boots!  Gotta love drinking booze out of boots.

After draining our boots, we took a gander at the German crafts and gifts.


All that gawking made us hungry again, so we headed back to the food area and picked up a couple more treats: potato pancakes and apple strudel!

The potato pancakes were a tad oily, but tasted divine with a bit of applesauce and sour cream on top.  The apple strudel was amaze-balls (as Yankee Girl would say).  I only wish it had been warm.  Let’s take one more look at that strudel, shall we?

After thoroughly stuffing our faces with German delicacies and guzzling down a tremendous amount of boot wine, we waddled back to the train station and made our way home again.

THE VERDICT
While currywurst is nothing special, it definitely hit the spot on a cold winter day.  If it was to become street food in the US, like it is in Germany, I could definitely see myself ordering this after a long night out at the bars…and then spilling the sauce all over myself…

5 Responses to “Number 64: Currywurst”

  1. IntenseGuy December 14, 2011 at 8:45 am #

    I’ve always found German food names to be either unpronouncable or off-putting!

    Curryswurst sounds like it ought be a flaming hot spicy Indian dish…

    I often put ketchup on my sausage – seems like putting it IN the sausage would be a timesaver!

    That crowd should tell you the food is delish! But I would have hated to wait (and wait) in line!

    You look so cute drinking from a boot… LOL!

    I hope YankeeGirl is amaze-balls these days –

  2. Laura in Cancun December 14, 2011 at 12:34 pm #

    I really shouldn’t look at these while on my diet. You know what my lunch is today? Cheese rolled up in 2 slices of turkey… and a banana.

    You know what I WANT to eat for lunch today? Everything you just said.

    FML

  3. Sell WoW Accounts December 19, 2011 at 4:03 am #

    yum!

  4. Cathy December 28, 2011 at 11:38 am #

    I need to go to the Christkindlmarket someday. It sounds awesome! And that apple strudel looks divine.

  5. Kelly @ Dare to be Domestic December 29, 2011 at 8:36 am #

    wine in a boot = awesome! I’ve been dying to try kraut – when I was younger I hated the smell of it but now that I’m older I’m really interested in trying it.

Leave a Reply

