Number 66: Frogs’ Legs

21 Dec

As much as I pride myself on being an adventurous eater, when you prepare a weird food yourself (instead of ordering it at a restaurant), it’s much easier to be grossed out.  That was almost the case in this situation. When I found frozen frogs’ legs at a local grocery store, I knew that cooking them myself would be much cheaper than heading to a fine French restaurant, so I took some home.  They sat in my freezer for weeks until today, when I finally mustered up the courage to make them.

I was a bit squeamish about touching them at first, but once I took them out of the packaging, I was strangely okay with them.  They felt like chicken, and for some reason, they made me laugh.  I kept imagining them dancing around (ok, not imagining- I actually made them dance around).

I decided to follow a super simple recipe online that called for me to dredge the legs in flour, add salt and pepper, then saute them in butter.  It didn’t sound too painful.


When I put them into the pan and flipped them, the little legs kept crossing and I couldn’t stop laughing again.  It was like they were relaxing in a butter bath  🙂  I cooked them until they were golden brown, then added a bit more salt (and a pinch of basil, just for color) and served them up!


The whole time, I was convinced that they were going to taste like chicken, so when they didn’t, I was surprised.  They had an extremely delicate flavor and tasted just like whitefish.  Due to my too-simple preparation, they were a bit bland, but at least the flavor wasn’t masked by anything.

THE VERDICT
I think that these would have been significantly improved with some garlic or a flavorful sauce, but I was pretty happy with them, anyways.  They were definitely different from what I expected, and it’s always fun when that happens.  The best part: they weren’t slimy.  Phew.  I was pretty worried about that!

7 Responses to “Number 66: Frogs’ Legs”

  1. IntenseGuy December 21, 2011 at 3:46 pm #

    Poor Kermit… RIP… We know ye well.

    🙂 All I can think of is the foul smelling frogs we dissected back in grade school – if I didn’t think would smell like that – they would actually look yummy.

  2. Aubrey S. December 21, 2011 at 3:53 pm #

    That’s kind of funny. I love frog legs, but I don’t think I’ve ever seen them in the grocery store…

  3. Laura in Cancun December 21, 2011 at 5:10 pm #

    I had frog legs once years ago (can’t even remember where) and they were delicious! I love how they’re all just chillaxin’ in the frying pan.

  4. Becki D. December 22, 2011 at 1:31 am #

    Zoinks. It wouldn’t be so bad if they didn’t look exactly like what they are. Fuhreeeaky!

  5. Michelle December 22, 2011 at 9:05 pm #

    LOL! I can’t remember ever having Frog Legs before. Looks like frog butt, too! OMG, I’ve been around my kids too much today. Wanted to stop by and thank you for entering my giveaway for the refrigerator purifier. I think those laundry balls look great, too! I might have to give them a try.
    Thanks again!

  6. Cathy December 28, 2011 at 11:28 am #

    Wow! I could never prepare them myself. I would get too freaked out. I think if I ate them in a restaurant I would be ok. But even then it would probably take me about 10 minutes to build up enough courage to eat them

  7. Kelly @ Dare to be Domestic December 29, 2011 at 8:28 am #

    Between reading your blog and watching Anthony Bourdain on Travel Channel I’ve started to open my mind to new things. I will admit you have all the bravery in the world to make these at home! All of your fears would have been mine. I still don’t know if I will work up the courage to do this BUT I will work up the courage to try some next time I’m in NOLA so thanks for kicking me in the adventurous direction! 🙂

Leave a Reply

