Number 10: Baba Ghanoush

3 Jan

As far as I know, I have never tried baba ghanoush.  Hummus is my Middle-Eastern dip of choice, and I buy a tub of the stuff each and every week.  Last week, when I went to the grocery store, I saw a tub of baba ghanoush sitting amongst the hummuses (hummi?) (hummus?)  While I was super tempted to buy it, try it, and call it a day, I figured it’s time I stop taking the easy way out and make it from scratch.  Once I found a recipe, I realized that making it from scratch wouldn’t be too difficult, after all.

I decided to use
this ridiculously simple recipe.  The very first step was to murderously stab the eggplant, which I found most enjoyable.


After that, you stick it in the oven and roast it until it turns into a shriveled, hideous, oversized raisin.


Next, you take it out of the oven, plunge it into an ice bath, and peel the skin off.  Gross.


And that’s the hardest part of the whole recipe.  All you have to do after that is stick the eggplant in a blender, add some lemon juice, tahini, and garlic, then stir in some olive oil at the end. Refrigerate for a few hours, et voila!  Baba ghanoush.


I was a bit put off by its appearance at first.  It was greyish in color and its texture was kind of spongy and moist, like brain matter with seeds.  My first taste was not a great one.  I couldn’t decipher any flavor; it was just wet and bland.  As I continued to eat it, however, I finally started to taste the subtle eggplant and tahini flavors.  Because the pita chips I had purchased were very strongly seasoned, the baba ghanoush ended up being the perfect subtle pairing for them.  Before I knew it, I had eaten far too much.  I had become addicted.


THE VERDICT
I don’t really think that baba ghanoush can stand very well on its own (or at least the baba ghanoush that I made).  If it wasn’t for my herb-seasoned pita chips, I probably would have abandoned the dip pretty quickly.  It did have a nice flavor, but it was a bit too meek for my liking.  Did I enjoy it?  Yes.  Did I love it?  No.  Is it better than hummus?  No way, no how.

6 Responses to “Number 10: Baba Ghanoush”

  1. Laura in Cancun January 3, 2012 at 5:02 pm #

    I’ve never been a huge fan of hummus, even… so I might have to pass on this one!

  2. Miss Angie January 3, 2012 at 7:16 pm #

    There’s this great little Falafel house near me that serves Baba Ganoush and it has a vinegar-y taste to it. It’s pretty good, but I’m a hummus girl too.

    That’s really cool that you made it too! 🙂

  3. IntenseGuy January 4, 2012 at 7:49 am #

    As much as I love my eggplant, having it baked and pureed doesn’t sound to appealing. I’m surprised it was bland though… I do like the name for the dish, I mean, how cool can you sound saying “Baba Ganouch!”

  4. Kelly @ Dare to be Domestic January 4, 2012 at 8:39 am #

    and here I thought this was a soup… not a dip. I’m so undercultured… yes I just made up a word too! 😉 Every time I hear “Baba Ganouch!” I think of Wedding Crashers!

    P.S. Finally tried new food… hog jaw. Who knew it could be tasty I surely didn’t!

  5. Bridget January 10, 2012 at 7:13 pm #

    This does look delicious, although I’m with you–nothing can beat hummus. If only I weren’t allergic to sesame seeds. ugh.

  6. Amy February 8, 2012 at 3:49 pm #

    I am a huge fan! Surprisingly I learned about it from my mom making it. Try cooking the eggplant in a charcoal grill yum! That’s my favorite way. And toast some whole cumin seeds in a dry skillet and grind them up. I love cayenne pepper too- just doctor it up, and make your own pita bread cooked on the grill.

Leave a Reply

