Number 33: Salted Lassi

11 Jan

There aren’t too many things in this world that make my stomach churn.  David Blaine (what a douche), American cheese (it’s like eating human skin), “The Big Bang Theory” (I get it- they’re smart- it’s not funny), Egg McMuffins (bad association from childhood)…I find all of these things detestable.  There are very few other things that I can’t stand, except for plain yogurt.  There’s just something so horribly unsettling about the tangy flavor of plain yogurt, and I can’t bear to eat it.

So what is a salted lassi, you ask?  It’s a drink.  Made out of plain yogurt.  <<shudder>>  I think the purpose of the lassi is to balance out the spiciness of Indian dishes; it serves the same purpose as having a glass of milk when you have spicy food.

While I knew that a lassi was made out of plain yogurt, I kind of thought that there would be something else in it that would mask the flavor a bit.  I was wrong.  The lassi was a thin beverage (not at all shake-like, how I thought it would be) with a frothy top that tasted 100 percent like plain yogurt and nothing else.  I tasted no hint of the “salted” part of the lassi, and the spice that was sprinkled over the top- cumin?- didn’t provide any flavor at all, either.

I will admit that the lassi did help neutralize the spiciness of my dinner, but after about two sips, I felt like I was going to barf and I gave the rest to Dan.

THE VERDICT
Clearly, this is not the drink for me.  There are lots of other flavors of lassi that I think I might enjoy, including mango, but I will never have a salted lassi again.  Ugh.

6 Responses to “Number 33: Salted Lassi”

  1. c.c. January 11, 2012 at 7:16 pm #

    seriously? no american cheese? kraft singles? these are bad? because those are comfort food for me. those with saltines. love’m. and yet, now whenever i eat one, i’m going to recall this post and your comparison of them to human skin. awesome. :]

  2. IntenseGuy January 11, 2012 at 7:52 pm #

    Sounds pretty bland and slimey. Ewww…

    What would Sheldon think….

  3. Laura in Cancun January 12, 2012 at 11:58 am #

    Ew, plain yoghurt! I hate it, too. My dogs love it, though.

    Why all the Big Bang Theory hate? I love that show! It’s as awesome as American cheese (which I can never eat again after reading this post)

  4. Kelly @ Dare to be Domestic January 12, 2012 at 2:17 pm #

    ick! That sounds horrible! I am not a fan of plain yogurt either. I keep thinking about purchasing the plain greek yogurt to sub into my food for sour cream but then I remembered that I rarely eat sour cream so if I’m going to eat it I want the real, full fat thing!

    P.S. Thank you for your thoughts on the Big Bang Theory – I really just want to strangle all those characters!

  5. Becki D. February 1, 2012 at 2:56 pm #

    I’m with ya on the yogurt. There is something just wrong with the texture and flavor of yogurt. Barf.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Number 14: Aloo Gobi | OMNIVORE100PROJECT - January 12, 2012

    […] gobi masala, which was covered in a thick orange masala sauce.  Very vibrant, no? You know how yesterday I listed a bunch of things that I hate?  I forgot one.  Cauliflower.  There’s nothing particularly offensive about cauliflower; […]

Leave a Reply

