Number 14: Aloo Gobi

12 Jan

Yep, I’m still on the Indian food.  You didn’t just expect me to order only one dish at that restaurant, did you?  Anyways, today’s post is brought to you by the color orange, as I have yet another neon-colored food to share with you today.  While traditional aloo gobi is bright yellow, I decided to order aloo gobi masala, which was covered in a thick orange masala sauce.  Very vibrant, no?

You know how
yesterday I listed a bunch of things that I hate?  I forgot one.  Cauliflower.  There’s nothing particularly offensive about cauliflower; it’s just a flavorless, oddly textured veggie that rubs me the wrong way.  It’s like broccoli that’s fallen into a coma: pale, boring, lifeless, and tree-like.

Aloo gobi is primarily made from potatoes and – you guessed it – cauliflower.  The potato was cut into thin wedges and mixed with large chunks of cauliflower.  I was a bit unsure as to how it would taste at first, but I was pleasantly pleased by my first bite.  The one good thing about cauliflower is that it absorbs the taste of what’s around it, so the tender florets were filled with a masala-y flavor.

The dish wasn’t particularly spicy (mainly because I insisted they make it mild!), but it was pretty darn oily.  It wasn’t exactly greasy, but the pool of oil in the bottom of the bowl was fairly disturbing.  I mixed up my aloo gobi with some of the rice-based lamb biryani that Dan had ordered, and they two went perfectly together.

THE VERDICT
If a dish can actually make me enjoy cauliflower, than it can’t be half bad.  Everything in the aloo gobi masala was really tender and delicious, and it was even better the next day when I reheated some of it for lunch.  I could have done without the pool of oil, but hey- it tasted good and I shouldn’t complain.

3 Responses to “Number 14: Aloo Gobi”

  1. Laura in Cancun January 12, 2012 at 5:20 pm #

    Looks good! …and kind of like Cheetos.

  2. Kelly @ Dare to be Domestic January 13, 2012 at 8:20 am #

    I have NEVER heard of this. My husband and I really want to try some Indian food – we don’t have the outlet here in small town Alabama but maybe one day!

    Have you ever tried roasting cauliflower in the oven? It changes the flavor and gives it a deep taste. I wish I could describe it better but if you ever felt the desire to give it one more whirl – I’d say roast it. Totally changes it. [Then again I love cauliflower so I might not be the best one to give you advice on this veggie!]

  3. IntenseGuy January 13, 2012 at 11:20 am #

    I think I like the sound of the name, Aloo Gobi, better than what it sounds like to eat…

    I’m with you with the say no to cauliflower…

Leave a Reply

