Number 55: McDonald’s Big Mac Meal

17 Jan

I never in a million years thought that I would drive through a McDonald’s and order a Big Mac Meal with a Coke.  I’m not a huge fast food-eater; I’ll hit up McDonald’s maybe once every 6 months and grab a double cheeseburger, but it’s usually when I’ve had a bit too much to drink or if I just have an intense junk food craving that cannot be ignored.  But today, my blog dragged me through lovely Chicago weather (a combination of freezing rain and snow) to get a meal that, frankly, I didn’t really want.

In one way I was excited.  I mean, how often do you get to eat a huge fast food meal completely without guilt?  Yes, whenever I eat a food for my blog, I don’t allow myself to feel guilty about the money spent or the fat consumed; I feel like it’s my job and I have to do it!  In another way, I was dreading it.  I didn’t want to use up one of my two fast food meals of the year on a meal that I wasn’t really craving and I might not even like.

I had never actually had a Big Mac before and I thought I had no idea what goes into one…that is, until I remembered the song that was composed 11 years before I was born (God only knows how I learned it!): “two all-beef patties, special sauce, lettuce, cheese, pickles, onions, on a sesame seed bun!”

I love the old man who just says “pickles…cheese…” then looks around like he lost his dentures.  Oh, and the guy with the awesome 70’s ‘stache who almost throws a shit fit because of something to do with onions.

Anyways, I’m excited to try any food that has its own theme song. Who wouldn’t be? When I took everything out of the bag, I was a little bit disappointed. If you compare what a Big Mac is supposed to look like…

…to what it actually looks like…

…it’s a little bit sad.  The burger was lopsided and ugly, with special sauce oozing out everywhere and pickles poking out one side.  I took a bite.  It didn’t taste bad.  It tasted like the familiar McDonald’s food that I’ve had many a time.  The only thing that threw me off was the sauce.  It tasted like mayo and ketchup mixed together, but had a bit of a spicy bite to it- horseradish, perhaps?  The burger would have been infinitely better if they just scrapped the special sauce and replaced it with ketchup.  Nothing can beat ketchup on a burger.  Nothing.


The fries were typical McDonald’s fries.  They were kind of cold, very salty, some were droopy, and others were crisp.  Pretty boring, really. And the Coke?  Well, as someone who doesn’t drink pop at all, it’s quite a treat to have even a few sips of the bubbly beverage.  The excitement fades into disgust pretty quickly, though.

I’m not going to pretend that I struggled to finish this meal.  I can put away tons of food, and quickly.  Frighteningly quickly.  The only thing that I couldn’t finish was the Coke, which I put in the fridge for Dan to drink later (he’s an addict).

THE VERDICT
I went into this one thinking that I would be disgusted with myself and with the meal when I was done.  The honest truth is that it wasn’t that bad, and it wasn’t that filling, either.  I don’t feel fat and I don’t feel stuffed, but I don’t feel satisfied, either.  The worst thing about fast food is that you’re always left wanting more.  However, if I ever do decide to have more, I’m going to stick to my double cheeseburgers.  That special sauce just didn’t cut it for me.

5 Responses to “Number 55: McDonald’s Big Mac Meal”

  1. IntenseGuy January 17, 2012 at 8:30 pm #

    Hold the lettuce – hold the pickle – special orders don’t upset us – all we ask is that you let us serve it your way…

    Oops… wrong place… 🙂

  2. Kelly @ Dare to be Domestic January 18, 2012 at 9:52 am #

    I feel better knowing I’m not alone in the fact that I’ve older and never ate a big mac. I have wanted to try it though. It used to my husbands favorite vice from McD’s but he’s since switched to the Angus burgers. I myself always get the 2 cheeseburger meal. I am trying to NOT eat a ton of fast food lately… I do want to try a Big Mac though. Bottom line I fear I’ll love it and when I get fixated on a food I have to eat it over and over until I get my fill of it. Not so good for this burger. I have had a small pinch of the burger once when curious but it didn’t do it justice I don’t think.

    P.S. The sauce is Thousand Island Dressing.

  3. Laura in Cancun January 18, 2012 at 1:06 pm #

    I don’t think I’ve ever had a Big Mac! (and I looove McDonalds… just usually go for the small cheeseburger. Mmmm simplicity!)

    I shouldn’t have read this post while on my diet…

  4. Kelly @ Dare to be Domestic January 18, 2012 at 1:56 pm #

    so you inspired me to go get one of these suckers today for lunch and I have to say your review is SPOT ON! I wasn’t overly impressed and will probably never eat one again but I wasn’t grossed out either. Mine also looked like someone sneezed while towering my burger and then just left it – my cheese was one way and the rest was the other.

    I finished my coke though… I’m an addict for that stuff! [So I only drink it sparingly].

    Thank you for this!!! And thankfully I will not be addicted to this burger at all [reading the bottom made me also never want to eat it again… 530 calories..EEP! I’d rather have a REAL burger!!!]

  5. Amy February 8, 2012 at 3:33 pm #

    This would be the hardest one for me on the list. This summer I reluctantly ate at mcdonalds.. a stop with a caravan of vehicles on a road trip home. It was neither speedy nor tasty in the slightest.. not one good point going for the place or food. I have also never eaten a big mac before.. ill stick to that.

Leave a Reply

