Number 7: Cheese Fondue

26 Jan

Three and a half years ago, I spent two weeks in Switzerland with my ex-boyfriend and his family.  We drank wine, hiked through the mountains, ate gourmet meats and cheeses, and sat in the sun.  When we got fogged in for four days, we played Risk and watched tennis on TV.  And one night, we went to a restaurant where we each got a huge pot of authentic Swiss fondue.  It was heaven.  Now, three and a half years later, I find myself at Trader Joe’s buying a pre-packaged carton of fondue that you put in the microwave.  Not quite the same thing.

I had fully intended on making cheese fondue from scratch, but do you have any idea how much cheese costs?!  A small wedge of brie is like eleven dollars!  When I found this emmental, comte, and gruyere fondue for just six bucks while I was doing some shopping, I couldn’t pass it up.  And it was so big that Dan and I barely could finish half of it in one sitting!

The one thing that I had hated when I had fondue in Switzerland is that they only dipped bread in it.  I remember waiting for a plate of vegetables and meats to be placed in front of me, only to be given a basket of bread squares.  Lame.  I decided to take this opportunity to dip in all the things I had dreamed of dipping the first time around: broccoli, mushrooms, granny smith apples, and some bread for good measure.

I could not have been more excited for this.  I believe that cheese is quite possibly the most magical and delicious food on earth, and if you saw me around pizza, you would be genuinely frightened by my behavior.  Let’s just say that I don’t love sharing.

Anyways, my first dip into the creamy fondue was kind of disappointing.  It didn’t have that rich, salty flavor that cheese is supposed to have.  Instead, it was light and white winey (yes, that’s a word) with a bit of tang to it.  Now, I’m not going to say that it wasn’t fantastic – because any cheese is fantastic in my book – but I could taste the vegetables and bread more than I could taste the cheese…and who in their right mind would want that??


THE VERDICT
Yes, obviously the authentic fondue from Switzerland was better than this, but this wasn’t half bad for six dollars.  My favorite thing to dip in it actually ended up being the apple slices, because I love mixing sweet and savory flavors, but everything was pretty tasty.  Overall, this wasn’t the glorious experience that I thought it would be, but hey- it’s melted cheese.  I’ll never turn it down.

4 Responses to “Number 7: Cheese Fondue”

  1. Laura in Cancun January 26, 2012 at 5:19 pm #

    I had cheese fondue once at The Melting Pot and was unimpressed… surprising considering that I also have a cheese obsession, like you.

    I’m more a fan of chocolate fondue 🙂

  2. Kelly @ Dare to be Domestic January 27, 2012 at 11:28 am #

    I am obsessed with cheese and I’m sure it’s my downfall. Like mentioned above I’ve been to The Melting Pot before and loved it but damn was it expensive!!! For what I got I felt like I over paid and for the price I probably could have purchased myself a fondue set, the cheese I wanted AND the dipping food for that price and re-use the fondue pot over and over again.

    This looks tasty my mouth watered when I saw the picture of the apple w/ cheese!

  3. IntenseGuy January 29, 2012 at 7:33 pm #

    I ❤ cheese.. melty stringy, crumbly, spreadable, waxy, it don't matter…. its CHEESE!!

  4. Becki D. February 1, 2012 at 2:41 pm #

    I ❤ the Melting Pot. Favorite ridiculously overpriced date place, always. 🙂

Leave a Reply

