Number 42: Whole Insects

30 Jan

When I was a kid, I was obsessed with the book How to Eat Fried Worms.  It told the story of a boy who, to win a bet, has to eat fifteen worms, all prepared in different ways.  Instead of being disgusted by the descriptions of worms topped with ketchup and worms in spaghetti sauce, I was intrigued.  I thought they sounded good.  And while I have never eaten a real worm, today I found myself munching on BBQ-flavored meal worms. I guess you could say it was a childhood dream come true.

I strangely had no problem with pouring these babies out on a plate and popping them in my mouth.  And I strangely had no problem with having another handful after that.  Or another after that.  They were actually really good.  They were light and crunchy with an unexpected meaty flavor (perhaps due to the BBQ flavoring?)  The aftertaste wasn’t fantastic, but they were really fun to snack on.

And my meal didn’t stop there.  Many months ago, Sophia from Raven Waves brought me back a scorpion lollipop from a trip to Arizona.  I was a bit more nervous about this one, as scorpions are a lot more terrifying than meal worms.  And, unfortunately, it ended up being a lot more disgusting than meal worms, too.  I think it was the combination of bizarre textures and flavors that really made it gross.  Strawberry + scorpion = revolting.

Those aren’t the only bugs I’ve had in my lifetime.  A few years ago, I asked for baked crickets and chocolate-covered ants for Christmas (as you do) and was thrilled to find them in my stocking on Christmas morning.  Yes, I was a weird food addict even then.  The ants were incredibly smoky and almost inedible, while the baked crickets (which happened to be flavored like green curry) were crunchy and flavorful, but terrifying to eat.  I could see every single body part on them…the eyes, the legs, the wings, the antennae…and I think it actually took me a half hour to just work up the courage to take a bite.

THE VERDICT
Looking back on all the bugs I’ve eaten, I have to say that the meal worms reign supreme.  They were totally yummy and tasted almost like something you’d normally snack on.  I mean, if you compare meal worms with Funyuns, can you really say that the worms are more disturbing?  The scorpion was just too much, though.  Those creepy little pincers and that nasty-looking tail…<<shudder>> I think I’ll pass on any future insect-filled lollipops.

5 Responses to “Number 42: Whole Insects”

  1. Kelly @ Dare to be Domestic January 31, 2012 at 8:55 am #

    I give you HUGE kudos for your cojones girl! I don’t think I could eat bugs.. then again I’ve watched a few videos and maybe if they were deep fried I might be OK. But I have watched people eat GRUBS and I will NOT eat a GRUB… it’s the squish and squirt.. it’s the same reason I won’t eat cherry tomatoes w/out cutting them up first.. yeah, I’m strange 😉

  2. Becki D. February 1, 2012 at 2:37 pm #

    Scorpion and crickets = HAYEEEEEEEEEEE…CK NO.

    I did get my nephews ant candy (much the same as the scorpion pop…ants trapped in hard candy) and they seemed to like them pretty well.

    And Funyuns are the bomb. No way are they comparable to meal worms, dangit!

  3. IntenseGuy February 2, 2012 at 11:23 am #

    Hello, this is Fear Factor calling… we’d like to cast you on our show….

    The only bugs I’m eating are the ones I accidently inhale.

  4. Sophia February 5, 2012 at 8:49 pm #

    Yay u ate it!!! Sorry it was so gross though lol! I can’t believe the year will be ending soon. What’s next?

  5. Amy February 7, 2012 at 1:20 pm #

    Meal worms. Shudddddder. I have traumatizing memories of meal worms being kept in my basement fridge for my

Leave a Reply

