Number 90: Criollo Chocolate (and a mini-giveaway!)

31 Jan

At the moment, my life is almost entirely made up of contradictions and ridiculousness.  One minute I’m eating expensive gourmet chocolate in my living room, and the next minute I’m heading out to Tuesday night bowling league and drinking dollar Bud Lights.  A few months ago, I’m at a Roadkill Cook-Off in West Virginia, and now I’m making reservations at the highest rated restaurant in Chicago.  Sometimes (especially yesterday, when I had to write “meal worms” in my food journal) I wonder why I’m even doing this.  But then I get a shipment of fine Mexican chocolate in the mail and I remember how much I really love this challenge.

Criollo chocolate is the rarest chocolate in the world, and criollo cocoa beans are native to Central America and some of South America.  As usual, I had no idea where to find this item, but luckily, Amazon came to my rescue.  Within a few days, three bars of ki’Xocolatl 72% dark chocolate with red pepper and spices had arrived at my doorstep.

I think the box sat there for maybe two minutes before I dug in.  The flavor was very deep, dark, and bitter, like a good dark chocolate should be.  It almost had coffee undertones to it, as well.  And because I bought criollo chocolate with red pepper in it, there was a very subtle hint of spice that grew into a dull burning in the back of my mouth once I was done eating.  It was also a bit crunchy, as I believe there were cacao nibs in each piece.

At first I couldn’t get into it, but it grew on me after a while.  And before I knew it, bar number one was devoured.  I kept telling myself “I need to eat one more piece- just to try to identify the flavors a bit better this time.”  I never did fully identify those flavors…which is why bar number two now has a healthy chunk taken out of it.

THE VERDICT
I know it’s the rarest and most expensive chocolate in the world, but for me, it wasn’t the best.  While I did enjoy eating it, I can think of several chocolate-related experiences that rival this one.  The first bite I ever took out of a Lindor truffle, the Ritter Sport bars I snacked on in Switzerland…even the first time I tried an unadulterated bar of Cadbury Dairy Milk in England.  The criollo chocolate just didn’t come with that dreamy, blissful, melt-in-your-mouth feeling that those other chocolates did.  I’m sure that someone with a more refined palate would scoff at my review, but I stand by my statement!

So…I have one bar of chocolate left.  Want it?  Let’s make this an informal mini-giveaway.  Leave me a comment telling me what your favorite kind of chocolate is and next Monday (Feb 6), I’ll pick somebody (US residents only, please!) to get my last bar.  Follow me on Twitter (@omnivore100proj) for an extra entry.  Sound good?

42 Responses to “Number 90: Criollo Chocolate (and a mini-giveaway!)”

  1. Shannon Baas January 31, 2012 at 6:42 pm #

    I like milk chocolate.

  2. c.c. January 31, 2012 at 7:18 pm #

    hershey’s milk chocolate. cadbury’s mini eggs. OH! and there’s this candy shop in grand junction, colorado. enstrom’s or something like that. they make THE BEST chocolate covered cherries. i DEVOUR those things.

  3. Ann F January 31, 2012 at 8:34 pm #

    I love all types of dark chocolate. I especially like dark chocolate with raspberry filling

  4. Marilyn Wons January 31, 2012 at 10:17 pm #

    My favorite kind of chocolate is Dark Chocolate!

  5. debbie February 1, 2012 at 5:35 am #

    My favorite kind is dark chocolate.
    twoofakind12@yahoo.com

  6. Tracie February 1, 2012 at 6:03 am #

    Dark chocolate is my favorite but I don’t discriminate. I’ll eat it all.

  7. Cynthia C February 1, 2012 at 6:48 am #

    My favorite chocolate is no longer made – Suchard Deluxe. I do enjoy dark chocolate, though.

  8. Kelly @ Dare to be Domestic February 1, 2012 at 8:32 am #

    I am a sucker for Lindor truffles… but damn I’ll eat the WHOLE bag. They are my favorite. I do however enjoy dark chocolate if it’s laced with some type of fruit extract [or artificial flavoring as it might be] 😉

  9. Beth February 1, 2012 at 10:25 am #

    Vahlrona is my favorite. It’s one of the most premier chocolates in the country, the chocolate that is sent to chocolate companies to craft their confections with. It melts with a stern gaze, coats the tongue, and tastes like heaven. I’m definitely a bigger fan of the Latin America cacao beans, and 72% chocolate is my favorite (although occasionally I crave something in the high 80s percentage). If you’re ever in Seattle, take the Chocolate Tour (or just go to the Chocolate Box, in downtown) and you’ll find a favorite. 😀

  10. Beth February 1, 2012 at 10:25 am #

    Also, I follow you on Twitter (as ArtemisHi).
    Thanks for hosting the giveaway!

  11. Becki D. February 1, 2012 at 2:31 pm #

    Followed ya on Twitter!

  12. Becki D. February 1, 2012 at 2:34 pm #

    Aaand my favorite chocolate….hard, hard decisions! I absolutely *love* Ghirardelli’s milk chocolate with the caramel inside, and I also love pretty much any Lindt truffle you hand me, and Cadbury cream eggs and any chocolate/hazelnut combination….ahhh.

    Chocoholic, much? Why yes, yes I am!

  13. Suzanne K February 1, 2012 at 2:48 pm #

    I love dark chocolate covered marzipan

  14. Kyl Neusch February 1, 2012 at 10:58 pm #

    all dark chocolate

  15. IntenseGuy February 2, 2012 at 11:26 am #

    I like the vanilla part of those chocolate, vanilla and strawberry ice cream bars…

    🙂

    I hope the winner really enjoys! Thats mighty generous of you!

  16. Erin February 2, 2012 at 8:32 pm #

    I love dark chocolate 🙂 … it soothes my soul when I’m feeling old and washed up 😉

    You’re almost done with your challenge! yayyy!… I better start thinking of how this can relate to Full House so I can leave you a hilarious comment when it’s all over!!

  17. Claire February 2, 2012 at 10:10 pm #

    i love ritter sport! Any flavor, yumm. Thanks!

  18. jacqueline February 3, 2012 at 3:12 pm #

    ritter sport dark chocolate with marzipan is by far my favorite chocolate in the world!! jmmccarr@gmail.com

  19. jacqueline February 3, 2012 at 3:12 pm #

    i follow u on twitter jmmccarr

  20. Jess February 3, 2012 at 3:20 pm #

    I used to be a milk chocolate fan, but dark has slowly grown on me over the years.

  21. Carol February 3, 2012 at 3:34 pm #

    I love dark chocolate, and if you put it together with peanut butter, hooray!

  22. Leslie Johnson February 3, 2012 at 4:53 pm #

    I like dark chocolate.

    katja9_10 at hotmail dot com

  23. Christine February 3, 2012 at 8:49 pm #

    dark chocolate

  24. Diane Baum February 4, 2012 at 3:37 pm #

    I love milk chocolate

  25. Sandy February 4, 2012 at 7:26 pm #

    I love Godiva Salted Chocolate Caramel Bars!

  26. Janet Black February 4, 2012 at 8:47 pm #

    I like dark chocolate.

  27. jessica edwards February 4, 2012 at 9:37 pm #

    white chocolate

  28. Andrea K February 5, 2012 at 12:28 pm #

    I LOVE dark chocolate! Love Lindor truffles and Godiva, too.

  29. Kim Ripley February 5, 2012 at 12:59 pm #

    My favorite chocolate is dark-chocolate raspberry.

    I would love to try this bar!

  30. erma H February 5, 2012 at 2:16 pm #

    I love Dark Chocolate

  31. Kimberly Hilbert February 5, 2012 at 4:06 pm #

    I love Hershey Milk Chocolate the best! I’d love to see how this stacks up to Hershey.

  32. BlackAsphodel February 5, 2012 at 6:25 pm #

    My favorite is chocolate with strawberry cream filling. 🙂

  33. BlackAsphodel February 5, 2012 at 6:25 pm #

    I follow @omnivore100proj on Twitter as @BlackAsphodel

  34. Penny Snyder February 5, 2012 at 7:31 pm #

    I used to love milk chocolate, now I’m in LOVE with dark chocolate! grammypenny@frontier.com

  35. Penny Snyder February 5, 2012 at 7:32 pm #

    Follow you on Twitter – @grammypennyann……grammypenny@frontier.com

  36. Michelle Tucker February 5, 2012 at 10:35 pm #

    My favorite kind of chocolate, godiva truffles, hands down.
    michedt at yahoo dot com

  37. Wehaf February 5, 2012 at 11:32 pm #

    I love all chocolate, but actually mostly eat white chocolate. I think that makes me a bad foodie, though!

  38. Sarah L February 6, 2012 at 3:18 am #

    Currently (it does change) it’s Hershey’s kisses filled with mint truffle. Smooth & very minty.

    Thanks for the contest.

  39. Sarah L February 6, 2012 at 3:18 am #

    Twitter follow you: slehan

  40. Rebecca February 6, 2012 at 7:31 am #

    Oh. Yum. I LOVE dark chocolate!

  41. Melanie C February 6, 2012 at 9:43 pm #

    My favorite Chocolate, is Milka! Hazelnut chocolate. Grew up with this chocolate in germany, and it’s just one of those flavors that’s always stuck with me 😉

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. February 3rd- giveaways! | FreeInter.com - March 7, 2012

    […] Omnivore100Project- 1 bar of Mexican criollo chocolate (Ends February 6/USA) […]

Leave a Reply

