Number 13: PB&J Sandwich

10 Feb

There is nothing more classic than a peanut butter and jelly sandwich.  I can’t even count how many times I brought one for lunch in grade school (is it just me, or did the jelly always soak through the bread and make it soggy?) and I have made more than a few in my adult life, as well.  But here’s the thing: they’re kind of boring.  Everybody has tried one and everybody knows what they taste like.  So I decided to do the only thing I could think of to “spice up” the sandwich.  I made a PB&J sampler platter, complete with 3 different kinds of peanut butter and two different kinds of jelly.

First of all, I had to include the two essentials: plain’ old peanut butter and grape jelly.  In addition to the classics, I had Peanut Butter & Co’s White Chocolate Wonderful peanut butter and their Cinnamon Raisin Swirl Peanut Butter.  For another jelly option, I used Crofter’s organic superfruit spread.  I made a bunch of different combos, cut ’em into triangles, and got to tasting.


If you’ve never tried Peanut Butter & Co’s Cinnamon Raisin Swirl peanut butter, giiiiiiirl, you betta go out and try it!  It is seriously life-changing.  It has whole raisins in it and is full of so much cinnamony goodness that once I start eating it, I just can’t stop.  Their White Chocolate Wonderful is pretty good, too, but wonderful?  That’s debatable.  As for Crofter’s superfruit spread, it’s much more complex than regular grape jelly- it’s deeper and darker and full of all sorts of flavors.

Finally, I tried my control sandwich (the classic PB&J) and it made me realize something.  Fancy shmancy peanut butter and organic fruit spreads are all good, but there’s just something magical about ordinary grape jelly and non-gourmet peanut butter.  It’s childhood in a sandwich, and there’s seriously nothing better than that.

THE VERDICT
Sometimes simple is better, and a PB&J sandwich is the epitome of simplicity.  I highly recommend fixing yourself one when you’re having a bad day.  Cut off the crust, pour yourself a glass of milk, and feel like a kid again.  You won’t regret it.

5 Responses to “Number 13: PB&J Sandwich”

  1. IntenseGuy February 11, 2012 at 8:15 pm #

    It was a PB and J kind of day today.

    Is it just me – or has Jelly gotten a lot better in the past few years?

  2. IntenseGuy February 11, 2012 at 8:17 pm #

    I see you have Bagna cauda (whatever that is…) and Curried Goat still on the list but you are making good progress!!

  3. Kelly @ Dare to be Domestic February 12, 2012 at 10:53 am #

    this makes me hungry – I’m sitting here BC [before coffee] on a sunday morning wondering what I’m going to eat… you’ve inspired me. I will be making a good ole’ fashioned “grilled PB&J sandwich” for breakfast. Have you ever had it? SOOO good. You prepare it just like you would a grilled cheese, a small bit of butter on the outside, the PB and J goodness inside… it gets melty and amazing!

  4. Miss Angie February 13, 2012 at 12:06 pm #

    Mmmm, now I want one.

  5. Laura in Cancun February 13, 2012 at 3:23 pm #

    I like simple, creamy Peter Pan peanut butter, with grape jelly. Mmm!

Leave a Reply

