Number 45: Malt Whisky from a Bottle Worth 120 Dollars or More

13 Feb

I have the best friends in the world.  On Friday night, Yankee Girl, her sister, and her husband came over for a few drinks.  While most people would bring over a sixer of beer or a bag of chips, they brought over a $200 bottle of Glenmorangie Signet.  Now that’s friendship.

I wish I could say that my years in Scotland made me a lover of whiskey, but due to bad high school experiences, I have never been able to drink the stuff without feeling nauseous.  Just the smell of it makes me feel ill.  This made me intensely guilty, as one sip of this whiskey probably cost my friends around $5 and I wouldn’t even enjoy it.  But it had to be done!

Now, I pretty much suck at identifying flavors.  When we had wine tastings at the restaurant I used to work at, the wine lady would always ask, “what flavors can you taste in this wine?”  Everyone would always give these really intelligent answers, but my response was always “uh, grapes?”  Tasting the whiskey was a similar experience.  The strongest flavor I could identify was a smoky, peaty aftertaste, but the whiskey pro of the group insisted that there were also cinnamon, coffee, and dark chocolate undertones.  I did taste the dark chocolate bitterness after a while, but it didn’t jump out at me.

I was, however, surprised at how well I could tolerate the Glenmorangie Signet.  I find most whiskey offensive, but this whiskey wasn’t half bad.  The flavor was very smooth and the burn of the alcohol didn’t jump out and punch me in the face like it does with most whiskeys.

THE VERDICT
It didn’t make me want to puke, so that’s always a plus, but I would never just whip out a glass of whiskey and start drinking.  If this $200 whiskey didn’t bring joy to my mouth, I think I’m a lost cause.  But it did make me feel so warm and cosy inside…soooo warm and cosy…

6 Responses to “Number 45: Malt Whisky from a Bottle Worth 120 Dollars or More”

  1. Kelly @ Dare to be Domestic February 14, 2012 at 8:43 am #

    I like whiskey…. I won’t say I LOVE IT. But this might make me change my mind. You’re right it’s the burn I can’t get over. Mixing it with coke helps but then that’s not really a good thing right? I should be able to sip and enjoy it straight. You’ve got some amazing friends!! 🙂

  2. Miss Angie February 14, 2012 at 9:51 am #

    I just can’t justify spending that much money on alcohol, so I guess I’m cheap that way… lol

  3. IntenseGuy February 14, 2012 at 12:11 pm #

    My last experience with whiskey was about 20 years ago. Chivas Regal… hard to believe that’s the “cheap stuff”!! I had no problem drinking it… it just took a couple days to feel normal again (ouch.. whaddahangover!)

    Yankee Girl is a marvelous friend. I miss her online presence. Seem like you two take turns with blogging.

    . o O (could they be the same person… I’ll have to ask Clark Kent)

  4. Laura in Cancun February 14, 2012 at 12:52 pm #

    I can’t identify flavors, either. I had a coffee tasting once and I was all “ummm… it tastes… warm!” I think it worked though, because the guy was like “Oh yes, that’s the cinnamon!” haha

    My Mexican friends all LOVE whisky, but I’m just not a fan.

  5. Cathy February 29, 2012 at 3:33 pm #

    I KNEW I liked Yankee Girl! Showing up with a $200 bottle of booze….that girl knows how to roll. JT loves whiskey/whisky/scotch/bourbon…all of those brown liquors. I find the more expensive it is the easier it is to drink. Imagine that.

  6. Jahn Ghalt May 3, 2013 at 2:06 pm #

    I went to a cigar bar in Phoenix where they also had a vast array of high end whisky – single malts, too of course.

    I tried a half oz. of four different kinds – and asked for my favorite – the port-finished Glenmorangie – which is $70-80/750ml bottle.

    All were different but I can’t say that I liked the $200 scotch better than the $50 – good to know.

    OH, they also also chilled bottled water – which you add, using a straw, to the scotch in small quantities.

    (why not ice? I asked – they said that the concentration constantly changes as it melts – much less controllable)

    A *little* opens up the flavors – something to pass on to your generous scotch-loving friends.

Leave a Reply

